Huge Entry List At Boardwalk Indoor Event


ATLANTIC CITY, N.J. – A massive field of race hungry three-quarter midget, 600cc micro, slingshot and champ kart drivers will be making their way from across the northeast to Atlantic City’s Boardwalk Hall this Friday and Saturday NAPA Auto Parts Indoor Racing Weekend.

The 11th running of the marquee event run under the direction of Len Sammons Motorsports Productions is the third and final race of the Fatheadz Eyewear Indoor Series.

Overall, 213 teams are entered among the four divisions of competition; less than half of them will be transferring to the feature races, making the qualifying events intense affairs in their own right. TQ Midgets and 600 Micros race feature events on both Friday and Saturday with the ultimate prize, the Gamblers Classic the main TQ race on Saturday.

Champ Karts and Slingshots complete the majority of their qualifying Friday and their features on Saturday night.

Last year’s winners indoors in Atlantic City were Erick Rudolph, who won the Gamblers Classic TQ race and both 600cc Micro main events, Ted Christopher, winner of the remaining TQ race, Simon Egan, winner of the Slingshot race and Chris Daley, victor in the Champ Kart main event.

All 2012 winners are among the entries for the 2013 NAPA Auto Parts Racing Weekend.

In the TQ Midget field are 78 entries. Past Boardwalk Hall Indoor race winners, besides defending race winner Rudolph include Ted Christopher, Lou Cicconi Jr., Billy Pauch and Joey Payne.

Impressive newcomers Patrick Emerling, asphalt Modified favorites Jimmy Blewett, Ryan Preece and Rowan Pennink aim to challenge their more experienced Indoor TQ rivals.

“I’m looking forward to this,” said Blewett, who has never raced a TQ midget nor raced indoors.

His late brother, John Blewett III, finished third in the 2007 Gamblers Classic in his one and only TQ start. In the 600cc Micro class, thirty-nine drivers have filed entries.

Several of the TQ drivers have separate cars for the 600cc Micro race. Micro specialists entered include Jimmy Carpenter, Slingshot specialists Gary and Kyle Hieber, past Bridgeport sprint-car champion Tim Iulg, Hoosier Jason Ormsby and perennial contender Rob Vivona.

A whopping 56 Champ Karts are heading to Boardwalk Hall. Major contenders, beside defending race winner Daley include Justin Bonsignore, Danny Bouc, Glen Meisenhelder, top threat Ron Midford, much improved Michael Pares Jr., Fatheadz Indoor Series Indoor points leader Brandon Rusczek, D.J. Shaw and Andrew Swisher.

Forty entries have been filed for the Slingshot class. Prominent among these are New York State dirt track Modified standout Andy Bachetti, second generation standout Bobby Dmuchowski, Sportsman standout Anthony Perrego and small block Modified driver Ricky Yetter.

The drivers who will be competing in Boardwalk Hall hail from 14 different states and two Canadian provinces.