Hattons & Vanderboom Headline Badger Banquet

The top-five in Badger Midget Series points in 2018 included (from left to right): Kevin Olson (4th place), Tyler Baran (runner-up) Scott Hatton (champion), Ryan Probst (third place), Chase McDermand (fifth place). (Bob Cruse photo)

MCFARLAND, Wis. – Champion driver Scott Hatton and car owner Jerry Hatton headlined the list of honorees at the annual Badger Midget Auto Racing Ass’n awards banquet Saturday night at the Fifty One Hundred.

The event brought the curtain down on the 82nd anniversary season for the series sponsored by Zimbrick Chevrolet of Sun Prairie.

The Badger championship was the fifth for Hatton, with previous titles coming in 2000, ’04, ’05 and ’09. It marked the first Badger car owners championship for Scott’s father, Jerry, a veteran of more than 40 years in the sport.

Hatton’s season was highlighted by two feature wins at Sycamore (Ill.) Speedway, three runner-up’s and five fast times driving the Honda Performance Development (HPD)/Pepsi-sponsored Stealth/Honda No. 1.

Kurt Gunderson was named Mechanic of the Year for for his efforts on the No. 1 car. Hatton also claimed the Hard Charger Award and finished 102-points ahead of Tyler Baran, who finished second in points and won the Kevin Doty Award.

Award winners included: Harrison Kleven: Rookie of the Year, Mike Stroik: Most Improved Driver, Ryan Probst: Best Appearing Car, Kyle Brinkman Racing: Best Best Dressed Crew, Chuck & Bill Bollig (Pat Stender Award), Andrew Felker (Terry Vaughn Award), Ryan Probst (Frank Conner Award), Loren Olson (Media Award), David Alexander and Marty Saso (Appreciation Award).

Sponsor appreciation awards were presented to: Zimbrick Chevrolet of Sun Prairie, 84 Lumber, David Alexander, Howard Law, 1855 Saloon & Grill, High Performance Lubricants, Industrial Truck Repair, Service Specialists, My Race Pass, Engraving & Trophy Specialists, Cardinal Heating, AFS, Ben’s Auto, BCH Tax & Financial, and All-Star Heating & Air Conditioning.

Jack Vanderboom won one feature on his way to capturing the Badger 600 Micro Series presented by My Race Pass Championship. Vanderboom becomes the sixth different champion in eight seasons of 600 Micro Series competition.