Halford Sings Winning Tune


OKLAHOMA CITY, Okla. — The Lucas Oil POWRi West Midget Series took to the Turner Turnpike following a Friday night outing at Creek County Speedway, heading southwest to Oklahoma City for Saturday night’s Blue River Classic at I-44 Riverside Speedway.

Sixteen midgets checked in to race to raise autism awareness, and also compete amongst an all-too-typical early spring Oklahoma windstorm.

Riverside dirt likely left a layer or two in Bricktown, but did not stop a packed house of 500 fans – all in lawn chairs as the fifth-mile continues to assemble the new grandstand after the May 20th, 2013 tornado deposited the old one in the infield.

Jonathan Halford took charge of the feature event and held off Jason McDougal, who charged from eighth starting spot, for the victory.

Kevin Bayer, Matt Johnson and Ty Hulsey completed the top five.

The finish:

Jonathon Halford, Jason McDougal, Kevin Bayer, Matt Johnson, Ty Hulsey, Hannah Adair, Mark Chisolm, Eric Fenton, Cody Brewer, Matt Sherrell, Brian Harvey, Alex Sewell, Michelle Decker, Steven Shebester, A.J. Burns, Jordan McPherson.