Hagen Controls Fredenberg Memorial

Darren Hagen dominated Sunday's Badger Midget Series feature at Angell Park Speedway in Wisconsin. (Jeff Arns Photo)
Darren Hagen dominated Sunday’s Badger Midget Series feature at Angell Park Speedway in Wisconsin. (Jeff Arns Photo)

SUN PRAIRIE, Wis. – Darren Hagen won the 36th annual Al Fredenberg Memorial 50-lap feature Sunday night at Angell Park Speedway.

It marked Hagen’s third victory of the season at the track in the event sanctioned by the Stark Automotive Group/Mid-State Equipment Badger Midget Series.

Hagen jumped into the lead at the start of the event. At the completion of lap five Hagen held a two second advantage over Jake Blackhurst and fast qualifier Terry Baab. Three laps later Hagen began lapping the tail of the field. Hagen increased his lead over Blackhurst to slightly over four seconds on lap 10. Blackhurst opened up a large advantage over a tightly packed group of who were battling for positions three-seven.

Hagen continued to lap cars, and led Blackhurst by 5.2 seconds at the midway point. Hagen lapped up to seventh position when the caution appeared when Scott Hatton’s car stalled on lap 32, erasing Hagen’s 7.1 second advantage. Hagen again pulled away on the restart, taking advantage of lapped cars between himself and second place Blackhurst. A stalled car on lap 45 caused a caution, bunching up the field.

Baab jumped the cushion, with four laps remaining, collecting fourth and fifth place running Andrew Felker and Danny Stratton. Felker flipped, escaping injury. On the restart Badger points Brad Kuhn passed Blackhurst for the second position. Hagen, driving the RFMS owned DRC/Ford-Esslinger No. 3, finished ahead of Brad Kuhn, Blackhurst and Davey Ray, the only four cars to complete the full distance. Daniel Robinson finished fifth, as thirteen cars finished the race.

“The crew had this car perfect all night, it’s great to win a race that has as much history as this one here at Angell Park,” commented Hagen, who collected $3,200 for the victory.

Vance Lein after starting in seventh position worked his way to the lead on the sixth lap to win the Badger 600 Micro series feature, finishing ahead of: defending Series Champion Chad Bogar, Preston Benisch, Robby Resch and Jason Dull.