Felker Doubles Up With Badger Midgets

Andrew Felker won his second-straight Badger Midget Series feature on Sunday at Angell Park Speedway.

SUN PRAIRIE, Wis. – Andrew Felker won the 20-lap Zimbrick Chevrolet of Sun Prairie Badger Midget Racing Series feature Sunday night at Angell Park Speedway.

The event was co-sanctioned with the POWRi Lucas Oil Regional Midget Series.

The event also kicked off the 72nd year of racing at the track and is the first of nine nights of racing this season at the facility.

Polesitter Mitchell Davis took the lead at the drop of the green flag, with Felker passing three cars in the opening lap. One the second lap Felker continued his charge passing two cars entering turn one, to gain second position, and then took the lead from Davis before the completion of the lap. Davis led a tightly bunched pack of five cars as they battled for the runner-up position.

Felker continued to increase his lead each lap and held a five-plus second lead at the midway point of the event over Davis. The event’s first caution appeared two laps later for a spun car, erasing Felker’s advantage over the field.

Felker continued to lead on the restart, with Davis holding off Chase McDermand, Ray Seach, and Kevin Olson for second place. The caution appeared again for a spun car on Lap 17. Felker easily pulled away from the field on the restart to lead the final three laps for the victory.

The victory was the sixth career Badger feature win for Felker who drove the RAB Racing owned Spike/Esslinger Ford-Duratech No. 57. The battle for runner-up honors was intense the final laps, with Andy Baugh claiming second. Davis, McDermand, and Olson completed the top five finishers.

“It was a perfect weekend winning two features,” said Felker, who also won Saturday’s Badger feature at Sycamore Speedway. “Winning at Angell Park is always special, I don’t run here as often as I have, so the win means a lot. The caution near the end took me out of lapped traffic and gave me a clear track on the restart, the car was great all night.”

Baugh also claimed the Advance Race Suspensions Passing award improving nine starting positions with his second-place finish. Harrison Kleven won the Howard Law Cash Draw, a bonus for a randomly selected feature finishing position.

Zach Boden won the 12-lap Badger 600 Micro Series presented by My RacePass feature. Boden took the lead on the second lap and easily finished ahead of Dave Collins Jr., Tory Strauss, Preston Ruh and Joe Snow.

“The car was on a rail, I passed the cars I need at the start, because things can spread out quickly here, after that I just drove the car,” said Boden.

The finish:

Andrew Felker, Andy Baugh, Mitchell Davis, CHase McDermand, Kevin Olson, Zach Boden, Ryan Probst, Scott Hatton, Ray Seach, Tyler Baran, Jeff Zelinski, Mike Stroik, Kurt Mayhew, Laura Smith, Dennis Smith, Jake Goeglein, Harrison Kleven, Pate Hensen, Scott Zane, Jim Fuerst, Kyle Koch.