Coons Secures NMDoY Honors


PERRIS, Calif. — Jerry Coons has captured the 2012 National Midget Driver of the Year Championship, in the season’s final event, Thursday Night the 72nd annual Turkey Night Grand Prix at Perris Auto Speedway.

Coons who captured the NMDOTY Championship five years ago, finished second in the 98-lap race behind winner Kyle Larson.

A total of 178 events were run during the season, with 508 drivers scoring points. Coons’ season was highlighted by four feature wins including the Belleville Midget Nationals Championship. Coons scored points with five different car owners — Joe Dooling, Wilke-PAK, Danny Lendich, RW Motorsports, and Shawn Burke.

Coons finished 130-points ahead of two-time NMDOTY Champion Brad Kuhn, with Darren Hagen trailing by an additional seven points. Larson, three-time NMDOTY Champion Bryan Clauson, Caleb Armstrong, two-time NMDOTY Champion Tracy Hines, Danny Stratton and Andrew Felker completed the top 10.

Kunz/Curb/Agajanian swept the top two positions in the NMDOTY Car Owners Championship. Rico Abreu captured the Design 500 Racewear Rookie of the Year. Spike (Chassis), and Ford-Esslinger (engine) again won the Manufacturers Championship.

The top ten drivers and top three car owners along with Manufacturers Champions and Rookie of the Year will receive their point fund checks and trophies in the annual ceremony held during the final night of the Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Midget Nationals on Jan. 12, 2013.