Coons New NMDOTY Championship Leader

Jerry Coons, Jr. is closing in on his second National Midget Driver of the Year championship. (Jeff Arns Photo)
Jerry Coons, Jr. has taken command of the National Midget Driver of the Year standings (Jeff Arns Photo)

WAUKESHA, Wis. – For the first time since late-March, there is a new driver atop the National Midget Driver of the Year point standings.

Jerry Coons, Jr., the 2007 NMDOTY Champion, now holds a 19-point lead over Darren Hagen after seven events during the recent Labor Day Weekend.

Coons, who scored four feature victories in August including, placed third in the Sept. 1 Pepsi Midget Nationals, while Hagen was an early retiree.

Brad Kuhn (882), Bryan Clauson (834) and Rico Abreu (809) fill the remainder of the top five in the NMDOTY standings. Pepsi Midget Nationals winner Caleb Armstrong improved to sixth place.

In car owner points, the Kunz-Curb-Agajanian No. 67 holds a 225-point cushion over RFMS Racing. Abreu has locked up the Design 500 Racewear Rookie of the Year Award. Spike (Chassis) and Ford-Esslinger (engine) have sizable leads in the Manufacturers Championship.