Chili Bowl Entry List Nears 250

Sammy Swindell (1) battles early Bryan Clauson during the 2011 Chili Bowl (Frank Smith Photo)
Sammy Swindell (1) battles early Bryan Clauson during the 2011 Chili Bowl (Frank Smith Photo)

TULSA, Okla. — With just under 20 days remaining until the 27th running of the Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Nationals presented by General Tire, the list of entered drivers has grown to 246 for the Jan. 8-12 event.

Representing the United States, drivers from 32 states have submitted their names for a chance at a Golden Driller with California and Oklahoma each providing 35 drivers into the annual midget extravaganza at the Tulsa Expo Center. Making the Chili Bowl and truly international event, drivers from Australia, New Zealand, Finland, and Canada will again make the trip to Green Country.

With entries submitted, several teams still have vacancies to be filled. Presently 15 cars are registered with a driver yet to be determined. Among the teams include Team Raypro, David Camfield Motorsports, Mark Bush Motorsports, and A.J. Felker Racing just to name a few.

A staple event of the Chili Bowl, the VIROC will enter its fifth year. Changing the company’s name to Vacuworx Global during 2012, the race will still be the VIROC but will be presented as the Vacuworx Invitational Race of Champions rather than the Vacuworx International Race of Champions. Scheduled for Tuesday’s Warren CAT Qualifying night, the list of drivers eligible for the VIROC V will be released in the coming weeks.

Over the past 26 previous events, 198 drivers have made the final A-Feature of the Chili bowl with 17 taking home the Golden Driller. Of the drivers who have made it into Saturday’s finale, the 27th Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Nationals presented by General Tire will see 58 of them in action with six past champions also in the mix as reigning three-peat champion Kevin Swindell (2011, 2010 and 2009) is joined by Tracy Hines (2005), Cory Kruseman (2004 and 2000), Damion Gardner (2008), Tim McCreadie (2006) and, of course, five-time Chili Bowl winner Sammy Swindell (2009, 1998, 1996, 1992 and 1989).



Previous articleSchedule Set For UMSS Wingless Sprints
Next articleUMSS Sets Busy Schedule is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.