Carroll Headlines NOW600 Port City Winners

Kris Carroll en route to victory Thursday at Port City Raceway. (Richard Bales Photo)
Kris Carroll en route to victory Thursday at Port City Raceway. (Richard Bales Photo)

TULSA, Okla. – A season-best 100 entries participated in the Lucas Oil National Open Wheel 600 Series presented by Hi-Plains Building Division action at the fourth annual Oil Capital Clash on Thursday at Port City Raceway.

Kris Carroll recorded his first Stock Non-Wing triumph with the series, besting 34 competitors for the top prize on the opening night of the three-day event.

Meanwhile, Frank Flud and Garrett Benson continued their strong starts to the season by returning to Victory Lane. Flud remains undefeated after beating 41 fellow racers to score his fifth straight series Winged A Class win and Benson posted his third Restricted A Class victory in the last four races.

Carroll outlasted Flud for the top spot in the 25-lap Stock Non-Wing main event with Connor Lee placing third, Daison Pursley fourth and 13 th-starting Ryan Timms fifth.

Layden Pearson, Baron Silva, Caleb Pence and Pursley each won a heat race. Ashton Torgerson and Johnny Boland were the B Main winners.

Flud maneuvered from sixth to keep his winning streak alive in the 25-lap Winged A Class main event. Pursley topped Timms for the runner-up position with Trey Robb fourth and Shawn Mahaffey fifth.

Pursley, Robb, Pence, Flud and Pearson claimed heat race victories. Blake Battles and Lee were victorious during the B Mains.

Benson bested the most recent Restricted A Class winner Ryder Laplante for the win to maintain his lead in the championship standings. Megan Thomas rounded out the podium with Kayden Cole placing fourth and Collin Mitchell fifth.

Thomas, Laplante and Elizabeth Phillips were the heat race winners.