Bonsignore Romps From 20th In Allentown


ALLENTOWN, Pa. – NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour competitor Justin Bonsignore raced his way to his first Indoor Auto Racing Series three-quarter midget victory Friday inside the PPL Center.

Bonsignore started 20th in the 25-car field after winning the B-Main and marched his way to the front to pick up the victory as well as an extra $150 for being the  E.F. Schneider & Son Hard Charger.

“I had to start way back when the front end of my car broke in my heat race,” Bonsignore said. “I had to win the B Main to even start 20th. But the car was always fast. It was just a matter of having the luck to get through the wrecks.”

Attrition claimed several front runners early in the competition. Bobby Holmes led early until his car suffered mechanical problems while leading during a caution period. Erick Rudolph, an eight-time Indoor Auto Racing Series race winner, got airborne and spun to a stop, and went to the back of the field as a result.  He charged back through the pack to finish third.

Ryan Flores was the leader at mid-race, chased by Matt Janisch. Flores, winner of the last two Allentown Indoor Auto Racing Series events, slowed as the laps unreeled, eventually pulling off with what proved to be a slowly deflating tire.

Bonsignore took the lead with 14laps left in the race after Flores dropped out.  Matt Janisch gained second spot and finished there, while a late race tangle between Jon Reid and Scott Kreutter cost both a top-five finish. Instead, Rudolph shot to third and 2017 ATQMRA Outdoor TQ driving champion Ryan Tidman assumed fourth. Earl Paules finished fifth.

In the companion Champ Kart race, Cale Ross collected top honors. Ross led the entire distance, challenged initially by E.J. Holz. When Holz faded at halfway point, Mike Perry and Richie Davidowitz took up the chase.  Back in the field, Tyler Thompson, who had lined up in the eighth row, had also clawed his way into the top five.

Despite some seven caution flags and restarts, Ross was never passed.  Perry held on for second, Thompson grabbed third late after Davidowitz’s car proved balky on the next-to-last restart, and Ryan Kendall moved to fourth at the checkered.  James Shutt was fifth.

“Every one of the restarts concerned me because you never know if somebody will drive under you,” Ross said. “That and lapped traffic.  But no problems with either one in this race.”



The finish:

Justin Bonsignore, Matt Janish, Erick Rudolph, Ryan Tidman, Earl Paules, Timmy Catalano, Joey Payne, Scott Kreutter, Geoffrey Sutton, Billy Whittaker, Jon Reid, Matt Roselli, Bobby Butler, Bret Conkling, Ryan Flores, Andy Jankowiak, Bobby Holmes, Anthony Sesely, Tim Buckwalter, Shawn Nye, Tommy Catalano, Zane Zeiner, Ryan Preece, Tim Nye.