Baran & Ray Split Angell Park Badger Twins

Tyler Baran won the first of two Zimbrick Chevrolet of Sun Prairie Badger Midget Racing Series features Sunday at Angell Park Speedway. (Mike Weber Photo)

SUN PRAIRIE, Wis. – Tyler Baran and Davey Ray split the 20-lap Zimbrick Chevrolet of Sun Prairie Badger Midget Racing Series features Sunday night at Angell Park Speedway.

The event was co-sanctioned with the POWRi Lucas Oil Regional Midget Series. It marked the first time since 1982 and just the 11th time in track history that twin midget features were run on the same night.

The first feature was the make-up feature for last week’s rain shortened Aug. 5 event. At the start Kevin Olson slowed on the backstretch, bringing out the caution. As the field attempted to slow down, series points leader Scott Hatton made contact with a slowing car, hitting the frontstretch wall and flipping several times. He escaped injury. Olson restarted and Hatton was credited with a 19th place finish.

Polesitter Jordan Mattson jumped into the early lead and increased the advantage each lap over Mitchell Davis and Andy Baugh. Baran, who started in 11th position, was running in fourth place when the caution appeared for a stalled car on lap seven.

On the restart Davis challenged Mattson for the lead, taking the top position exiting turn two on the ninth circuit. Three laps later a caution appeared for a spun car, bunching up the field. Baran passed Mattson for second one lap after the restart and then took the lead the next lap.

Baran, driving his Boss/Chevrolet No. 11, finished three car-lengths ahead of Davis, followed by Zach Boden, Ryan Probst and Olson.

“What a great start tonight to win here at Angell Park is remarkable. Hopefully my fast time for the second feature, allows me to work through the field again and get the bonus,” Baran said.

Davey Ray won the second Zimbrick Chevrolet of Sun Prairie Badger Midget Racing Series feature on Sunday at Angell Park Speedway. (Mike Weber Photo)

The regularly scheduled feature saw Boden take the lead at the start over polesitter Mattson. A four-car accident slowed the event on lap four. Mattson passed Boden for the lead on the sixth lap. The flowing lap Mattson suffered engine problems, resulting in a major fire, causing him to stop.

On the restart Andy Baugh assumed the lead, followed by Ray, who started seventh in the event, and Boden. Ray took the lead before the lap was complete and held a near-two second lead at the events halfway point. Ray spent the next several laps in lapped traffic. Hatton took the over second place with six laps remaining, but failed to narrow Ray’s advantage.

Ray, driving the Mark Ray-owned DRC/Honda No. 3, finished 3.80 seconds ahead of Hatton. Baugh, Boden and Davis completed the top five.

Ray kept his perfect record for the season intact, having now won all four of his series feature starts, including three at Angell Park.

The finishes:

First Feature: Tyler Baran, Mitchell Davis, Zach Boden, Ryan Probst, Kevin Olson, Kyle Brinkman, Jordan Mattson, Kurt Mayhew, Mike Stroik, Brad Weber, Denny Smith, Jake Goeglein, Harrison Kleven, Kyle Kock, Joe Ebben, Andy Baugh, Brian Peterson, Pat Hensen, Scott Hatton, Tristan Koenings, Chase McDermond.

Second Feature: Davey Ray, Scott Hatton, Andy Baugh, Zach Boden, Mitchell Davis, Chase McDermond, Brian Peterson, Ryan Probst, Kevin Olson, Kurt Mayhew, Kyle Koch, Aaron Muhle, Kevin Doughlas, Tristan Koenings, Kyle Brinkman, Harrison Kleven, Joe Ebbem, Denny Smith, Eric Reibenstein, Pat Hensen, Jake Goeglein, Jordan Mattson, Tyler Baran, Mike Stroik.