Baran Gets The Job Done On Sycamore Dirt

Tyler Baran won Saturday's Badger Midget Series feature at Sycamore Speedway. (Stan Kalwasinski Photo)

SYCAMORE, Ill. – Tyler Baran scored an exciting victory winning the 25-lap Zimbrick Chevrolet of Sun Prairie Badger Midget Racing Series feature Saturday night at Sycamore Speedway.

The event was co-sanctioned with the POWRi Lucas Oil Regional Midget Series.

Baran had an eventual evening at the track. After qualifying second quick, he hit the turn one wall in his heat race, flipping. Baran’s crew repaired the car, and he started outside of row six for the feature.

Jason Allen paced the initial lap, before tenth place starting Ryan Probst took over the top position. Scott Hatton who started next to Probst passed Allen for the runner-up position on the next lap. Hatton took the lead from Probst entering turn one on the sixth lap. Before the lap was complete Baran moved into third place.

Four cautions between laps nine through thirteen kept the field tightly grouped together. Hatton held a five-car length advantage over Baran, with eight laps remaining.

Baran slowly closed in on Hatton, reaching his rear bumper, with four laps remaining. As the pair crossed the start/finish line to complete lap 22, they approached a lapped car, entering turn one. Hatton chose the high groove, while Baran stayed on the bottom of the track, when the pair passed the lapped car exiting turn two Baran emerged with the advantage down the backstretch.

Baran driving his Boss/Chevrolet No. 11 finished three car-lengths ahead of Hatton, former Badger champion David Budres completed a great mid-race run to finish third., Probst, and fast qualifier Chase McDermand completed the top five. Seventeen of the starting field of 21 cars finished the event.

“When Scott went around the lapped car on the high side, I knew my only hope was to get around the car on the bottom. When I cleared the lapper I saw a clear track ahead of me. I ran hard the final laps, waiting for Scott to challenge me, it never happened,” said Baran.

The finish:

Tylar Baran, Scott Hatton, David Budres, Ryan Probst, Chase McDermand, Kevin Olson, Zach Boden, Mike Stroik, Kurt Mayhew, Jack Routson, Brian Petersen, Harrison Kleven, John Smith, Jake Goeglein, Kyle Koch, Pat Hensen, Denny Smith, Jason Allen, Shay Sassano, Michael Klein, Zach Orts.