Baran Claims Badger Finale As Hatton Takes Title

Nick Baran is joined by his son Luke after winning the Badger Midget Series feature Saturday at Beaver Dam Raceway.

BEAVER DAM, Wis. – Nick Baran scored a surprise victory during Saturday’s Scott Semmelmann Memorial 25-lap Zimbrick Chevrolet of Sun Prairie Badger Midget Racing Series feature at Beaver Dam Raceway.

Scott Hatton won his fifth career Badger Midget Championship, despite a late-race crash. Hatton’s previous titles came in 2000, ’04, ’05, and ’09.

The event brings to a close the 82nd year of sanctioning midget auto racing for the organization.

Tyler Baran jumped into the lead at the start, while Hatton advanced four positions on the opening lap to third place. Hatton passed Tyler Baran for the lead exiting turn two on the third lap.

Hatton continued his lead running the high groove around the track, with most of the field on the bottom groove. Tyler Baran repassed Hatton for the lead on the eighth lap. The first caution appeared one lap later for a spun car. Hatton retook the lead from Baran on the restart.

Nick Baran passed Tyler Baran for the runner-up position on Lap 15. Hatton continued running a perfect line just inches from the wall. Hatton began lapping the tail of the field with seven laps remaining. One lap later Hatton hit the third turn wall, flipping, ending his night uninjured, but out of the event.

Nick Baran assumed the lead on the restart over Jack Routson and Tyler Baran. Nick Baran ran the final laps of the race perfectly, and finished three-car lengths ahead of Routson driving the family owned Boss/Chevrolet No. 11.

Routson, Tyler Baran, past Badger champion David Budres and Kevin Olson completed the top-five feature finishers.

“This is my first race of the season, it’s great to get the win, the team has had the car so great all season for Tyler. I believe this is like only my sixth ever race on dirt, it’s a bonus that my brother ended up third in the feature,” said Nick Baran.

The finish:

Nick Baran, Jack Routson, Tyler Baran, David Budres, Kevin Olson, Kyle Brinkmann, Mike Stroik, Kurt Mayhew, Ryan Probst, Jim Fuerst, Denny Smith, Eric Reibenstein, Harrison Kleven, Jeff Zelinski, Chase McDermand, Craig Dori, Kyle Koch, Jake Goeglein, Pat Hensen, Tristan Koenings, Ken Hanson, Scott Hatton, Joe Ebben, Kollin Stephens, Shay Sassano.