Balog Lays Claim To Badger Midget Opener


BEAVER DAM, Wis. – Bill Balog won the 25-lap Wipperfurth Triple Crown Zimbrick Chevrolet of Sun Prairie Badger Midget Racing Series feature Saturday night at Beaver Dam Raceway.

The event kicked off the 83rd year of sanctioning midget auto racing for the organization, with Balog claiming his seventh career series win.

Polesitter Mike Stroik paced the opening lap before Kevin Olson took over the top position. Chase McDermand passed Stroik for second place on the next lap, and did the same to Olson for the lead entering turn three on the fourth lap.

McDermand quickly built a two second advantage over Olson, when the caution appeared for a spun car on lap seven.

McDermand led the field on the restart, with Balog in the seventh position, but Balog was charging quickly. He moved into fourth place on the 10th lap, then improved one position each lap to second at halfway, when a caution erased McDermand’s two second-plus lead.

On the restart, Balog passed McDermand for the lead and began increasing his lead each lap. The event’s final caution appeared on lap 17.

Balog went unchallenged the final eight laps, finishing 1.55 seconds ahead of Olson in the Mark Ray-owned DRC/Honda No. 3.

McDermand, Jack Routson and Zach Boden completed the top five.

“Mark and Robbie had the car perfect the entire evening,” said Balog who for the second straight year won the event at the track.

Balog also won the IRA Sprint Car Series feature later in the evening, and holds a 20-point lead over Olson leaving the Badger season opener.

The finish:

1. Bill Balog; 2. Kevin Olson; 3. Chase McDermand; 4. Jack Routson; 5. Zach Boden; 6. Brian Peterson; 7. Mike Stroik; 8. Kevin Douglas; 9. Jim Fuertst; 10. Pat Henson; 11. Jeremy Douglas; 12. Tristan Koeings; 13. Denny Smith; 14. Josh Rehberg; 15. Jordan Mattson; 16. Harrison Kleven; 17. Chase Jones; 18. Kyle Koch; 19. Matt ReChek; 20. Mike Unger.