Badger Midgets Back At Lafayette For First Time Since 1948


DARLINGTON, Wis. – For the first time in almost 72 years, the Badger Midget Series will return to the Lafayette County Speedway on Saturday, July 18.

The event will be part of the five-day Lafayette County Fair.

The half-mile track was downsized to a three-eighths-mile clay oval in 1998 and hosted three Badger 600 Micro Series events in 2017-18. The last midget Badger event on the big track was won by Billy Johnson on Sept. 26, 1948. Johnson won the Badger title aided by 21 feature wins during the season.

Other Badger feature winners at the track included Chet Morris (Sept. 15, 1946), Johnson (May 30, 1947), and Landy Scott (Aug. 17, 1947). Starting times and other competing race divisions will be announced shortly.

Adam Taylor holds a six-point lead over opening night feature winner Chase McDermand heading in to Recheck Excavating Midget Challenge on July 4 at Beaver Dam Raceway. Joining Badger will be the AutoMeter Wisconsin WingLESS Sprint Series and the INEX Legends Series.