Alphabet Soup Produces Many Different Victors

Alphabet Soup Produces
Kaidon Brown (97w) won a C-main Saturday during the Chili Bowl Nationals. (Brendon Bauman photo)

TULSA, Okla. — Kyle Larson may have claimed his maiden Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Nationals victory, but there were plenty of other thrills during an entire day of racing through the alphabet, with racing beginning before lunch Saturday at Tulsa Expo Raceway.

Dylan Ito and J.D. Black kicked off the day by winning the twin O-Features, while Charlie Crumpton and Chris Cochran topped a pair of N-Features and Mark Chisholm and Tim Barber split the spoils in the two M-Features.

Pierce Urbanosky and Cochran came out on top of the day’s two L-Features, of which the latter was time-shortened, with Cochran’s second win of the day serving as part of a run through the alphabet that saw him advance 35 positions and get all the way up to the I-Feature before he fell short.

Lucas Scherb and Noah Harris each won K-Features before Ethan Mitchell and Tanner Carrick followed with Kevin Studley J-Feature victories, while Mark Lowrey and Don Droud Jr. each took home an I-Feature win to continue their days a little bit longer.

Shawn Jackson and Colby Stubblefield went to victory lane in their respective H-Features, followed closely by Logan Scherb and Matt Streeter, who both topped a G-Feature to lead their groups of transfers.

Winning F-Features were Alex Schutte and Ben Worth, with Zeb Wise and NASCAR’s Ryan Newman taking home the E-Feature victories and Andrew Felker and Jesse Colwell dividing the twin D-Features between themselves.

That was part of Felker’s roll forward into the MAVTV portion of the program. He charged out of an E-Feature and came from from 19th to first in less than 10 laps to win his D-Feature and advance to the C.

The first C-Feature saw Australian Kaidon Brown roll the top of the track past Chad Boespflug en route to victory, with Gio Scelzi, Chase Briscoe, Steve Buckwalter and Sam Johnson following, while USAC Triple Crown champion Jerry Coons Jr. wired the second C ahead of Alex Bowman, Justin Peck, Joe B. Miller and J.J. Yeley.

The first 20-lap B-Feature saw Logan Seavey steal the lead from Chris Windom with five laps scored, rolling on to the win as Aaron Reutzel came home second to make the big dance for the first time.

Justin Allgaier, Spencer Bayston, Jason McDougal, Windom and Zach Daum completed the top seven in the first B-Feature.

The second B-Feature weathered a caution before a lap could be put in the books, seeing a stopped Wesley Smith force the yellow lights back on and causing the field to be restacked.

That was only the beginning of the chaos, as a lap-five flip by Joe B. Miller in turn two and a lap-14 rollover by Paul Nienhiser tied the World Wide Technology Raceway Flip Count of 75 set one year ago. The mark was later pushed to 77 during the 55-lap championship feature won by Larson.

None of that was of any consequence to Buddy Kofoid, however, who led all 20 laps and beat Keith Kunz/Curb-Agajanian Motorsports teammate Tucker Klaasmeyer for top honors in the second B-main.

Michael Pickens, Blake Hahn, Sammy Swindell, C.J. Leary and Shane Golobic completed the list of transfers into the A-Feature from the second last chance race.

By virtue of being the only first-year participant to make the A-Feature, Kofoid received the 2020 Chili Bowl Rookie of the Year Award.

The 35th running of the Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Nationals will see the race continue at its current format of six nights of racing, running from Jan. 11-16, 2021.

To view complete results from the alphabet soup portion of the program, advance to the next page.

How to Watch the Chili Bowl:

LIVE From the Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Presented by MyRacePass – Story Index Page
News, analysis, interviews, behind-the-scenes and more – updated throughout each day.

LIVE PPV Streaming Broadcast –
Monday – Saturday coverage

LIVE Television Broadcast –
Saturday, Jan. 18th at 8:30pm EST

LIVE Timing and Scoring – MyRacePass

SPEED SPORT’s Chili Bowl coverage is presented by MyRacePass, the official timing and scoring app of the 2020 Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Nationals. Fans can download the MyRacePass app on their phones to follow all the action during the Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Nationals. For more information on MyRacePass, visit and use the hashtag #GetTheApp on Twitter!