Linder Pockets Cash From Thunder In Carolina


GASTONIA, N.C. — Matt Linder charged from sixth at the start to win the 30-lap United Sprint Car Series Carolina Thunder Nationals Saturday night at Carolina Speedway.

Sport Allen took the lead at the start of the event and looked well on his way to victory until Linder began making his move through the field. By lap 15 Linder was fourth and by lap 19 he had moved into second. Linder took the lead one lap later and pulled away to victory.

Polesitter Morgan Turpen was second at the four-tenths-mile clay oval ahead of Erin Crocker, Terry Gray and Eric Riggins, Jr.

The finish:

Matt Linder, Morgan Turpen, Erin Crocker, Terry Gray, Eric Riggins, Jr., Lance Moss, Sport Allen, C.J. Miller, Adam Jackson, Jake McLain, Nick Bashford, Brandon Rekow, Aubrey Black, Brian Carter, Darren Clark, David Clark, Joe Larkin, Ray Bugg, Holly Jackson, A.J. Maddox.