Ladyga, Blewett & Susice Nab Trenton Prelims


TRENTON, N.J. – Nick Ladyga, Jimmy Blewett and Ryan Susice each punched their ticket into the 40-lap Battle Of Trenton three-quarter midget feature Saturday by winning 20-lap qualifying races Friday at Sun National Bank Center.

Their wins guaranteed them starting berths in Saturday night’s 40-lap Battle Of Trenton feature race.

The Len Sammons Motorsports Productions event also saw Erick Rudolph and Blewett tie for fast time, with identical 7.045 clockings to best a 63-car three-quarter modified field.

The Champ Kart feature, run over a 20-lap distance, was won by Chris Daley over Cale Ross. The win was Daley’s seventh career LSMP Indoor Champ Kart feature and second in Sun National Bank Center.

Ladyga, a New England Modified racer, and Susice, the 2015 Ransomville Raceway small-block modified champion, had never won indoor races before. Blewett, who ran races on both dirt and asphalt in 2015, is a past indoor TQ preliminary race winner.

The common denominator among all three heat winners was their car builder, Mark Lafler.

Contenders for the LSMP Indoor Series Presented By VP Race Fuels Point Championship, to be decided Saturday, had difficult Fridays. Anthony Sesely, who had led the points heading into Friday night’s events battled a misfiring car all afternoon and evening and eventually withdrew from his heat race when his car simply quit. Mike Lichty, second in points, crashed in his heat race. Rudolph, also a contender, was involved in numerous mishaps in his qualifier and Andy Jankowkiak, the defending winner of the Battle Of Trenton, crashed heavily and was out of his heat race early.

Blewett emerged from the Friday competition as the leader in the standings, with a guaranteed starting spot in the feature heading into Saturday’s climactic event.

In the Champ Kart race, Daley moved swiftly through the field to assume command but when a caution flag flew at mid-distance, Ross muscled by Daley for the lead. Two laps later, however, Daley reasserted himself and went on to win with Ross second, James Hayden, third, Dalton Rovira, fourth and A.J. Jadacki fifth.

Anthony Colandro, Jadacki, and Daley won the three Champ Kart heat races, and Brianna Page, won the Champ Kart B Main.