Kaeding Is The King Of Placerville

Bud Kaeding won Saturday's King of the West Sprint Car Series event at Placerville Speedway. (Joe Shivak Photo)
Bud Kaeding won Saturday's King of the West Sprint Car Series event at Placerville Speedway. (Joe Shivak Photo)
Bud Kaeding won Saturday’s King of the West Sprint Car Series event at Placerville Speedway. (Joe Shivak Photo)

PLACERVILLE, Calif. – Bud Kaeding won the 30 lap King of the West Sprint Car Series feature at Placerville Speedway on Saturday night and tightened the season long series points battle with only a few races remaining.

Kaeding lead the entire distance aboard his No. 0 Williams Motorsports sprinter after starting on the front row. Ryan Bernal finished second ahead of Colby Copeland.

Kaeding got the advantage over pole sitter D.J. Netto going into the first turn at the start. Netto’s No. 3c started from the point by virtue of winning the eight lap dash over Kaeding. Netto had a disastrous first corner, losing two spots after drifting high and into the outside cushion.

It took three attempts to get one lap in the books. The race went yellow for a tangle between Shane Golobic and Jake Morgan in the third turn.  On the first restart, Matt Barber spun in the first turn and was plowed into by Jim Richardson. Barber was able to change a left-rear flat and return but Richardson’s night ended after suffering heavy front end damage.  The green flag would wave briefly before Jarrett Soares would cause another caution for his first turn spin. The big loser on all the restarts was Willie Croft, who twice passed Netto for the third spot, only to be sent back in the lineup.

Once the race went green the clear track allowed both Kaeding and Copeland to pull away from the field while a three car battle was developing between Netto, Croft and Cory Eliason, who was making his first start for Roth Motorsports in the No. 83jr. Croft overdrove the fourth turn, going high into the top cushion and losing valuable positions.

The track would go yellow again on lap six when Morgan and Kyle Hirst tangled in the turn four. Hirst, the series points leader, suffered wing damage while Morgan, due to causing his second caution, was disqualified. Hirst would return after a top wing change. The race got three more laps in before the final yellow flag waved again for Barber, who along with Jason Statler were turned around in the third turn. Barber’s second caution disqualified him from the event as Statler joined the tail of the field.

The restart bunched the cars on the high speed quarter-mile banked clay oval, allowing Kaeding a clear track to click off the remaining laps. Eliason had a huge bobble coming off the fourth corner, getting crossed sideways in front of a pack of cars. Everyone was able to avoid him, but he lost several spots before he could recover. Croft’s race ended on lap 19 when he headed to the pit area. With five laps to go, Bernal got a Copeland in lapped traffic on the back stretch.  Netto held on to the fourth spot ahead of Golobic who charged thru the field after his early race spin.

The finish:

Bud Kaeding, Ryan Bernal, Colby Copeland, D.J. Netto, Shane Golobic, Bobby McMahan, Mitchell Faccinto, Kyle Hirst, Justyn Cox, Cory Eliason, Jason Statler, Chase Johnson, Jarrett Soares, Chase Majdic, Sean Watts, Willie Croft, Jake Morgan, Matt Barber, Billy Wallace, Jim Richardson.