Johnson Cracks ASCS Victory Lane

GOING FOR IT: Eventual winner Jason Johnson (41) races Eric Lutz for position Saturday night at Eagle (Neb.) Raceway. (Bob Mays Photo)

GOING FOR IT: Eventual winner Jason Johnson (41) races Eric Lutz for position Saturday night at Eagle (Neb.) Raceway. (Bob Mays Photo)

EAGLE, Neb. — It took until nearly the middle of June, but Louisiana’s Jason Johnson finally cracked Lucas Oil ASCS presented by K&N Filters National victory lane, winning Saturday’s Eagle Nationals 30-lap feature at Eagle Raceway.

Johnson raced into the lead from the second row on the opening circuit and led all the way on the top side of the third-mile oval, taking the checkered flag just ahead of the closing duo of Jack Dover and Shane Stewart.

While Johnson’s 44th-career ASCS National win marked his first as a car owner aboard the Don Ott-powered No. 41 Maxim, he denied Dover a storybook win after a trip to the hospital following a nasty last-lap crash while running second a night earlier.

Dover shadowed Johnson throughout the feature with Johnson reaching the checkered flag a mere two car lengths ahead of Dover.

Rebounding from a Friday night flip as well, Stewart worked his way into third. Zach Chappell and Travis Rilat filled the top five.

The summary:
Prequalified drivers: Danny Wood, Travis Rilat, Zach Chappell, Jason Johnson.
First Heat (10 laps): Shane Stewart, Billy Alley, Darren Long, Justyn Cox, Gary Wright, Stuart Snyder, John Klabunde, Tyler Drueke, Tim Crawley.
Second Heat (10 laps): Tony Bruce, Jr., Jordan Boston, Dustin Morgan, Brady Bacon, Doug Lovegrove, Mark Pace, Jake Martens, Gene Ackland, Nick Bryan.
Third Heat (10 laps): Matt Covington, Austen Wheatley, Eric Lutz, Jason Danley, Tige Jensen, Jake Peters, Terry Holliman, Tadd Holliman, Andrew Marshala.
Fourth Heat (10 laps): Ricky Logan, Jack Dover, Brian Brown, Chad Meyer, Kyle Hirst, Mike Boston, Robby Wolfgang, Bobby Mincer, Channin Tankersley.
First B Main (12 laps): Hirst, Snyder, Peters, M. Boston, Martens, Crawley, Wolfgang, Holliman, Bryan, Lovegrove, Marshala, J. Boston.
Second B Main (12 laps): Wright, Cox, Meyer, Danley, Jensen, Mincer, Tankersley, Ackland, Pace, Holliman, Klabunde, Drueke.
Feature (30 laps): Johnson, Dover, Stewart, Chappell, Rilat, Bruce, Morgan, Wood, Hirst, Wright, Bacon, Brown, Crawley, Wheatley, Covington, Cox, Logan, Alley, Meyer, Tankersley, Long, Lutz, Snyder, Peters.