It’s All Pickens In Lincoln Midget Run


Chris Bell went from 10th to third in the final four laps in Keith Kunz Motorsports’ Toyota-powered Bullet.

“I was way back and at the end, I decided to run the bottom and stayed there,” Bell explained. “I’m really happy, ecstatic. I was stuck around a pack of slower cars for most of the race and got caught racing them. There were cars on the bottom and cars on top and no room to pass.”

Thomas finished fourth and Zach Daum was fifth.

It was Benson’s second POWRi Micro victory. The 29-year-old has been a part-time entrant in the series, but is making a determined effort to run for the championship this season. He was a season-best third on Thursday in the Speed Week opener at Jacksonville and was fourth at Belle-Clair Speedway in Belleville, Ill., and seventh at Macon (Ill.) Speedway earlier this season.

Benson started third, behind polesitter Aaron Andruskevitch and moved into second on the opening lap. He passed Andruskevitch on the 11th of 20 laps.

“The middle (groove) was starting to slick off and I found a wet spot down the track that nobody had run and it allowed me to pass Aaron,” Benson said. “It feels good to win again.”

Cale Thomas finished second and Andruskevitch was third.

The finish:

Michael Pickens, Andrew Felker, Chris Bell, Tyler Thomas, Zach Daum, Darren Hagen, Tanner Thorson, Casey Shuman, Rico Abreu, Jerry Coons Jr., Dereck King, Danny Stratton, Nick Knepper, Garrett Aitken, Brad Mosen, Daniel Adler, Austin Brown, Jake Blackhurst, Terry Babb, Ryan Criswell, Justin Peck, Brad Kuhn, Tim Siner.