Hoosier Hundred Is Rich In Racing History


1998: Donnie Beechler wins rain-abbreviated event after 39 laps when red flag flies for Chuck Leary’s flip in turn one. Brian Tyler escapes injury in flips during qualifying and on lap four of the race!

1999: Jimmy Sills benefits from Dave Darland’s blown engine on lap 51 and takes victory after starting on pole. Kevin Thomas suffers concussion in flip in turn one on lap 52 and Jason Leffler suffers broken hand in a practice crash in turn one.

2000: Ed Carpenter leads 80 laps from the pole, then has a tire deflate and Tony Elliott goes on to win! Kasey Kahne is “Rookie of the Race.” Tom Capie escaped injury in flip on lap seven.

2001: Tony Elliott repeats as race winner, passing Jerry Coons Jr. on lap 83. A.J. Foyt IV makes race debut but hits the wall on the backstretch on lap 20. Paul White wins USAC’s Silver Crown title.

2002: Tracy Hines leads 90 laps but runs out of fuel and Jason Leffler wins the 50th “Hoosier Hundred” from the pole! A record total of 36 cars started the race. Ed Carpenter and Terry Pletch escape injury in “double flip” on lap 60.

2003: J.J. Yeley leads all 100 miles on his way to USAC’s “Triple Crown.” Yeley’s $64,550 purse includes a $50,000 bonus for scoring back-to-back wins at IRP and the State Fairgrounds! Randy Bateman flipped on lap 25 but escaped injury.

Previous articleWednesday Winners At Waterford
Next articleOhio Logistics Returns As Doty Sponsor
SPEEDSPORT.com is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.