Hoosier Hundred Is Rich In Racing History


1977: Pancho Carter leads all 100 miles of “Silver Anniversary” race. A.J. Foyt misses race due to accident in the semi!

1978: No yellow flags as Billy Engelhart beats “Rookie of the Race” Rich Vogler to the checkered flag!

1979: Bobby Olivero comes from 17th starting position to pass Billy Engelhart on lap 98 and win. Rich Vogler suffers broken leg in flip on lap 15. Billy Puterbaugh suffers broken wrist in separate crash.

1980: A.J. Foyt drops out at 29 laps while running second and Gary Bettenhausen goes on to win.

1981 HULMAN: Steve Kinser leads all 60 laps. Paul Pitzer unhurt after flipping over the wall on lap 18.

1981 HOOSIER: Larry Rice leads wire-to-wire for victory.

1982 HULMAN: Rick Hood gets first Silver Crown victory. Cheryl Glass becomes 
first African-American female driver in series history!

1982 HOOSIER: Chuck Gurney wins from the pole when Rich Vogler’s transmission fails on lap 92.

1983 HULMAN: Chuck Gurney passes pole starter Billy Vukovich on lap six and wins. Jerry Weeks and Johnny Coogan escape injury in a preliminary race flip.

1983 HOOSIER: Chuck Gurney passes Ken Schrader on lap 10 and wins. Rich Vogler flips in turn one on lap five.

Previous articleWednesday Winners At Waterford
Next articleOhio Logistics Returns As Doty Sponsor
SPEEDSPORT.com is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.