Hall Honors New Class


SUN PRAIRIE, Wis. — Steve Lotshaw, Leigh Earnshaw, Dick Jordan, Pedro “PeeWee” Distarce and 10 participants from the Historical Era (1934-55) are the latest drivers nominated for induction into the National Midget Auto Racing Hall of Fame.

Lotshaw won the 1979 USAC National Midget Championship by a scant four points and was runner-up in points on three occasions. Earnshaw also won four ARDC titles.

Jordan joined the USAC staff in December 1968. Jordan has overseen USAC publications and all news media activity for more than four decades. He is currently VP of news and communication for the organization.

Distarce, a former boxer turned driver, was one of the sport’s first top drivers. He also helped his brother Dominic with the promotion of midget racing at the famed Loyola Speedway in Los Angeles.

The 10 from the Historical Era are George Binnie, two-time Kansas City Midget Ass’n champion; Johnny Boyd, 1951 BCRA champion; Gordon Cleveland, standout California driver; Charlie Curryer, Oakland (Calif.) Speedway promoter; Joe Giba, winner of 21 features with various Colorado sanctioning organizations; Norm Girtz, San Joaquin Valley star; Gib Lilly, 1938 Southern Midget Racing Ass’n champion; Eddie Meyer, West Coast Car Owner; Bob Slater, two-time Kansas City Midget Ass’n champion; and Paul Swedburg, pioneer driver in the 1930s.

Previous articleNo Challenge For Billy Moyer
Next articleFUZI: Matt Miller’s Dream Has Become Reality
SPEEDSPORT.com is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.