Four More USAC Hall Of Famers Set


Hewitt of Troy, Ohio, is the winningest driver in USAC Silver Crown history, with 23 total victories to his credit. He also owns 46 USAC Sprint wins and seven in the Midgets. The 1986 and 1987 USAC Silver Crown driving champion achieved a life-long goal in 1998 by competing in the Indianapolis 500 where he finished 12th.

In 1998 he achieved what many believe to be one of motorsports’ most incredible feats – a clean sweep of the “4-Crown Nationals” at Eldora Speedway in Rossburg, Ohio. His wins in USAC Silver Crown, USAC Sprint, USAC Midget and modified competition came with four different teams!

“Lone Star J.R.,” as Fort Worth, Tex. driver Johnny Rutherford is affectionately known, is a three-time Indianapolis 500 champion (1974, 1976 and 1980) and won USAC’s National Sprint Car title in 1965 and added the USAC Indy Car crown in 1980. A multiple Hall of Fame member, he also won three Indianapolis 500 poles and scored 20 Championship car wins and eight in USAC Sprints.

In 1986 he added the Michigan 500 to his resume and he’s also a five-time IROC veteran. USAC’s 2000 Roger McCluskey Award winner has had heavy involvement as a driver coach and pace car driver for Indy Car events and in 1963 set a world qualifying record during NASCAR stock car competition at Daytona Beach, Fla. He followed that by winning his initial NASCAR start – a 100-miler at Daytona.

Previous articleSanchez, Homestead-Miami Founder, Dies
Next articleLucas Oil Debuts New Products is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.