Champ McClelland The Man In Sooner Finale


MUSKOGEE, Okla. – Sean McClelland put an exclamation point on his second career American Bank of Oklahoma ASCS Sooner Region championship by winning Saturday night’s season-ending 25-lap feature event at Thunderbird Speedway.

McClelland outlasted Zach Chappell to take his third ASCS Sooner win of the season aboard the Maxwell Oil No. 1 in the first ASCS event atop the half-mile clay oval in more than 10 years.

After pacing the initial nine circuits and then ultimately surrendering the point to McClelland for good on the 20th circuit, Chappell chased McClelland to the line for second. Dustin Morgan, Brady Bacon and defending Sooner champ Joe Wood, Jr. rounded out the top five. 

Donnie Ray Crawford, Wood and Morgan topped heat race action for the 22-car field.

The finish:

Sean McClelland, Zach Chappell, Dustin Morgan, Brady Bacon, Joe Wood, Jr., Kenneth Walker, Donnie Ray Crawford, Matt Sherrell, Rafe Essary, Koby Barksdale, Brian McClelland, Michelle Decker, Kirby Bedford, Waylon Weaver, Lee Little, Andy Shouse, Dan Adkins, Brian Roberts, Kevin Barksdale, Danny Wood.

Previous articleWindom With A Wire Job
Next articleF-1: Brazilian Grand Prix Results is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.