Bergman Sets The Pace At Salina

Seth Bergman in victory lane Friday night at Salina, Kan. (ASCS photo)
Seth Bergman in victory lane Friday night at Salina, Kan. (ASCS photo)

SALINA, Kan. — Seth Bergman earned the pacer’s position in the night’s Protect the Harvest A-Feature at the Salina Speedway and never relinquished the point for his second career Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by MAVTV American Real feature win.

Becoming the ninth winner in 12 Lucas Oil ASCS presented by MAVTV American Real races this season, Bergman stuck the Corridor Electric No. 23 to the bottom grove for the full 30 laps in his new Eagle Motorsports mount.

“I just came to the conclusion that the bottom was the best place to be. I didn’t see any lapped traffic moving around on the track and if they were going to get me, they were going to go around me up top,” said Bergman.

Taking the runner-up spot with a two for one pass on Jeff Swindell and Jason Johnson on the seventh circuit, Forler ran a mixture of lines on the Salina Speedway. Johnson’s night ended on lap 22 with fuel problems.

Keeping to the bottom line of the Speedway in turns one, and two before dashing high in turns three and four, in the later stages of the feature, Forler tried several times for the lead.

“We got into lapped traffic there and it did me good,” said Forler. “We just didn’t stay in lapped traffic long enough. I really think if we could have stayed in lapped traffic a couple more laps we probably would have got him.”

Talking about Forler’s presence, Bergman commented, “I knew Logan [Forler] was there, I could hear him and I just needed to be patient and hit the bottom and work with those lapped cars.”

Forler crossed second with Danny Lasoski in the Parker and Mark Burch Motorsports No. 1m coming from eighth to third. Johnny Herrera charged from 14th to fourth with Brian Brown completing the top five.

The finish:

Seth Bergman, Logan Forler, Danny Lasoski, Johnny Herrera, Brian Brown, Brad Loyet, Tony Bruce Jr., Jeff Swindell, Cole Wood, Jon Agan, Mike Peters, Luke Cranston, Jason Martin, Jon Freeman, Randy Hibbs, Blake Hahn, Dustin Morgan, Brandon Hahn, Jeff Stasa, Jason Johnson, Jack Dover, J.D. Johnson.