Bergman Conquers Abilene Oval


ABILENE, Texas — Posting his third regional ASCS victory of 2013, Washington’s Seth Bergman topped the Smiley’s Racing Products Lone Star Regional visit to the quarter-mile Abilene Speedway.

Besting a field of 23, Bergman paced runner-up to early leader Matt Covington until Covington spun on lap 13, propelling Bergman’s Oilfield Equipment and Manufacturing No. 23 to the pacer’s position.

Restarting from the features lone caution, Bergman protected the inside line for victory ahead of Johnny Herrera, who settled for the runner up spot for the second night running in the Print Place No. 45x. After failing to transfer to the night’s feature the night before in Boyd, young Harli White claimed third with Channin Tankersley in tow while Tony Bruce, Jr. charged from 10th to complete the top five.

The finish:

Seth Bergman, Johnny Herrera, Harli White, Channin Tankersley, Tony Bruce Jr., Kolt Walker, Patrick Stasa, Tim Crawley, John Carney II, Josh Baughman, Kyle Sager, Matt Covington, Gary Floyd, Martin Edwards, Dale Wester, Ryan Beechler, Shawn Petersen, John James, John Kelly, Dan Adkins, Steven Elliott, Blake Hahn, Michael Lang