Bayston Tops Macon POWRi Fight

Spencer Bayston earned his first POWRi Lucas Oil National Midget Series victory Saturday at Macon Speedway. (POWRi Photo)
Spencer Bayston earned his first POWRi Lucas Oil National Midget Series victory Saturday at Macon Speedway. (POWRi Photo)
Spencer Bayston earned his first POWRi Lucas Oil National Midget Series victory Saturday at Macon Speedway. (POWRi Photo)

MACON, Ill. — Spencer Bayston finally broke through to claim his first POWRi Lucas Oil National Midget Series victory of the year and his first with his new team, Keith Kunz Curb-Agajanian Motorsports, on Saturday night at Macon Speedway.

After three third-place finishes in a row, including both nights of the Missouri Mid-State Midget Nationals and Friday night’s show at Fayette County Speedway, Bayston took the checkered flag on Saturday after leading every circuit of the 30-lap main event.

In a caution filled main event, Daniel Robinson led the field to green only to have the start called back after Carson Macedo slowed in turns three and four.  Completely restarting the field, Bayston powered into the lead off turn four to lead lap one.  With six laps in the books, Robinson looped his machine off the turn two cushion, collecting Zach Daum and Andrew Felker.

Returning to racing Colten Cottle and Terry Babb would slide past Kyle Schuett for second and third as Bayston closed in on lap traffic.  With 11 laps down, Andrew Felker would bring out the third caution of the evening as his machine sat off turn four.  Coming back to green Cottle worked to reel in Bayston only to have the caution fly four laps later as Tanner Thorson sat off turn four.

On the restart, Jake Neuman and Dereck King would collect each other exiting turn two, piling up Macedo and Dayne Kingshott.  With the field lined back up, Terry Babb would take a shot at Cottle, but Cottle would return.  On lap 21 Macedo brought out the sixth caution as his machine spun off turn two.  Just as soon as racing returned, the action would be halted as Brayton Lynch sat looped off turn four.  On lap 24 the action would be halted again as Tucker Klaasmeyer looped his machine entering turn three, collecting Kyle Schuett.  Ryan Robinson was also involved.

Still out front, Bayston endured two more cautions and a final red flag on his way to victory.  On lap 25 Daum collected Felker, Thorson, Neuman and Daniel Adler.  Two laps later as Justin Peck pressured Babb for second, the caution flew as Klaasmeyer and Daum spun off turn two.  Returning to racing Dave Camfield Jr. would find himself upside down in turn two bringing out the red flag.  With three laps left, a shootout would ensue as Peck made his way to second, while Cottle rounded out the top three.  Babb took fourth, while Matt Ponder took fifth, a career-best.

“[Carson’s] the new kid on the block and he got the win before me,” said Bayston.  “We’re really close, so that makes us competitive, which is really good because we actually motivate ourselves.  I just can’t thank Big Al, Keith, Pete and everyone at the shop.  I’m glad we got this one out of the way.  We got it done and that’s what counts.”

“I was wide open around the top,” Peck said.  “I was trying to throw some sliders there and some were probably questionable, but we brought it home second with a bad fast race car.”

“We kind of have a little bit of momentum going there,” said Cottle.  “Last night we had a good run at Gas City, ran third for a little while, so we carried that over tonight.”

Jeremy Camp returned to the track just down the road from his home and dominated the POWRi Micro Sprint 20-lap feature event. He has won many micro sprint features at Macon Speedway with and without the POWRi sanctioning.

Nick Justice won his third street stock feature of the season and Jake Little topped the pro late model event.

Adam Webb won the four-cylinder hornet race.

The finish:

Spencer Bayston, Justin Peck, Colten Cottle, Terry Babb, Matt Ponder, Dayne Kingshott, Ryan Robinson, Holly Shelton, Brayton Lynch, Kyle Schuett, Andrew Felker, Daniel Adler, Jake Neuman, Cody Weisensel, Eric Johnson, Carson Macedo, Andy Malpocker, Dave Camfield Jr., Tucker Klaasmeyer, Zach Daum, Tanner Thorson, Dereck King, Daniel Robinson.