Balog Clinches Title With Victory


BEAVER DAM, Wis. — Bill Balog completed his championship-winning season in IRA Sprint Series competition with his eighth victory of the year at Dodge County Fairgrounds Speedway Saturday night.

Scott Biertzer took the lead early in the 25-lap event while Balog jumped to second after starting seventh. Balog closed on Biertzer before making his move as the lead duo worked lapped traffic.

Try as he might, Biertzer was unable to track down Balog in the closing laps and finished second. Mike Reinke, Scotty Neitzel and Russel Borland filled the top five.

The finish:

Bill Balog, Scott Biertzer, Mike Reinke, Scotty Neitzel, Russel Borland, Travis Whitney, Wayne Modjeski, John Haeni, Phillip Mock, Scott Uttech, Bill Warren, Bill Wirth, Dave Uttech, Andy Hunt, Kris Spitz, Brandon Thome, Matt Vandervere, Howie Gleason, Billy Hafemann, Tommy Sexton, Kurt Davis, Mike Kertscher, Nick Alden, Todd King.