Zimmerman Is An Elite Devil’s Bowl Speedster

Zimmerman Is An Elite
Justin Zimmerman in victory lane. (ASCS photo)

MESQUITE, Texas – Picking up his seventh career win with the ASCS Elite Non-Wing Series presented by Abilene Powder Coating, Justin Zimmerman topped action Saturday night at the famed Devil’s Bowl Speedway.

Winning the fifth annual Johnny Suggs Classic, Zimmerman climbed to the top of the leaderboard from the inside of the fourth row.

Chasing Jeremy Jonas through the opening laps, the No. 15 led through the race’s mid-point before Gary Floyd took over the top spot briefly before missing the line through the first and second turns.

Trying to regroup, contact sent the No. 58 flipping. Floyd was unharmed.

Giving the lead to Steven Shebester, the restart on lap 14 saw Zimmerman throw the slide through the first and second turns and go unchallenged to the checkered flag.

Keeping within a few car lengths of the No. 1, Shebester came from eighth to second with Jonas third. Paul White made up seven positions to grab fourth with Justin Fifield in fifth.

Weston Gorham in sixth was trailed by Jason Howell, Scott Evans, Bryan Debrick, and Stephen Smith to complete the top 10.

The next event on the lineup for the ASCS Elite Non-Wing Series presented by Abilene Powder Coating is Friday, Aug. 14, at RPM Speedway in Crandall, Texas.

The finish:

1. 1-Justin Zimmerman [7]; 2. 22X-Steven Shebester [8]; 3. 15-Jeremy Jonas [2]; 4. 1-Paul White [11]; 5. 49-Justin Fifield [9]; 6. 71W-Weston Gorham [5]; 7. 44-Jason Howell [4]; 8. 118-Scott Evans [6]; 9. 10-Bryan Debrick [12]; 10. 3S-Stephen Smith [15]; 11. 45-Martin Edwards [17]; 12. 57-Chase Parson [3]; 13. 9TX-Brad Wesp [18]; 14. 24-Joseph Kasper [16]; 15. 58-Gary Floyd [1]; 16. 04-Kyle Jones [13]; 17. 52-JD Fry [10]; 18. 72-Chris Tarrant [19]; 19. 33-Mike Merrell [20]; 20. 9-Chad Goff [14]; 21. 5J-Evan Pardo [22]; 22. 1X-Danny Debrick (DNS); 23. 7D-Shon Deskins (DNS); 24. 2-Kyle Lewis (DNS); 25. 91-Cody Price (DNS).