Wright Is Royal Purple Royalty

Gary Wright won the ASCS Gulf South Region feature at Royal Purple Raceway in Baytown, Texas in 2012. (RonSkinnerPhotos.com)
Gary Wright won Saturday night's ASCS Gulf South Region feature at Royal Purple Raceway in Baytown, Texas. (RonSkinnerPhotos.com)

BAYTOWN, Texas — Gary Wright banked the $3,000 victory as the Griffith Trucking and Equipment ASCS Gulf South Region concluded a two-night weekend with a stop at Royal Purple Raceway.

Wayne Johnson, who won on Friday night at Beaumont, Texas, took the early lead and led the first six laps of the three-eighths-mile oval. Travis Rilat sped into the lead on lap seven and set a strong pace until a stoppage on the 22nd circuit due to a deflated tire on Aaron Reutzel’s mount.

Wright used the restart to power to the low side of the track and grab the lead. From there his No. 9 was out front the remainder of the distance with Johnson taking second from Rilat, who finished third.

Tony Bruce Jr. and Seth Bergman completed the top five.

The finish:

Gary Wright, Wayne Johnson, Travis Rilat, Tony Bruce Jr., Seth Bergman, Travis Elliott, Tommy Bryant, Wes Miller, Brandon Berryman, Michael McNeil, Ray Allen Kulhanek, Aaron Reutzel, Evan Pardo, Logan Bledsoe, Brandon Corn, Bruce Crockett, Larry Howery, Greg Rilat, Chris Sweeney, Brandie Jass, Jon Agan, Beau Smith, Klint Angelette, Gary Watson.

BREAKING NEWS: SPEED SPORT is back in print with a new monthly format!
Subscribe for just $24.95. Special offer for former subscribers.