Wicked City Shootout Next For ASCS


TULSA, Okla. – In the days before famous lawmen like Wyatt Earp and Bat Masterson, Dodge City, Kan., was known by many as “The Wicked Little City.”

Segregated by the railroad tracks otherwise known as the “Deadline,” guns couldn’t be carried north of the tracks but south of those tracks it was wide open so it’s only fitting that Dodge City Raceway Park is south of the tracks.

Absent from Dodge City since 2005, the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by MAVTV makes their return for the inaugural Wicked City Shootout this Saturday and Sunday.

Overall, the Lucas Oil ASCS presented by MAVTV has crowned two winners, both in 2005. Gary Wright grabbed the inaugural checkered flag on June 16, 2005 with Danny Jennings taking the win the following night.

In the battle for the 2012 season championship, this weekend’s events represent rounds 45 and 46.

Jason Johnson continues to show his dominance, trading the lead with Wayne Johnson for the tenth time this season following Friday’s show at the Salina Highbanks Speedway. Backing that up with another win at I-30 Speedway this past Saturday the MVT No. 41 currently holds a slim 31 point advantage going into Dodge City.

Suffering a shredded tire that sailed the Outlaw Wings No. 77x into the wall this past Friday at the Salina Highbanks Speedway, Wayne Johnson fought back Saturday at I-30 Speedway with a sixth place finish after starting sixteenth.

Having finished in the top ten seventeen time in his last twenty outings with the Lucas Oil ASCS presented by MAVTV, Brady Bacon continues to ride third in tour standings. Johnny Herrera reclaimed the fourth after Brad Loyet saw his night end early at I-30.

Suffering a flip off the top of turn four in the opening laps of the A-Main at the quarter-mile oval, Loyet suffered his second DNF of the season in A-Main competition.

Tony Bruce Jr. currently sits sixth in tour standings following Saturday’s runner up performance at I-30 Speedway; a nice rebound after an engine expired under the hood of the Eagle Chassis No. 18 Friday night.

Seth Bergman holds seventh with Logan Forler eighth. Gary Wright rides ninth with Dustin Morgan currently making up the drivers in the top ten.