Western World Qualifying Nights Revealed


PEORIA, Ariz. – Coming off a pair of nights in the Borderlands of West Texas and Southern New Mexico, the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by MAVTV makes the trip west into the “Grand Canyon State” for the 2012 Season Finale with the 45th annual FVP Western World Championships presented by Sands Chevrolet.

Scheduled for Nov. 15-17 at the Canyon Speedway Park in Peoria, Arizona this year event will again feature an almost utopic combination of both the Wing and Non-Wing variety with the Lucas Oil ASCS presented by MAVTV and ASCS Southwest Region joining with the Non-Wing ASCS Canyon Region.

Split among Thursday and Friday night, the Wing and Non-Wing pre-entries totals come to 82. Among the pre-entered include three time Western World champion Donny Schatz. Earning back to back titles in 2010 and 2011, Schatz first Western World triumph came in 1999. Teaming with Travis Rilat in the Richard and Lana Saumure owned No. 15c Carlan Services/Xtreme Oilfield Technology entry; Schatz has had a banner year claiming his fifth World of Outlaws Championship in the Tony Stewart Racing No. 15.

Returning to defend his Non-Wing title is New Castle, Indiana ace Tracy Hines who will be behind the wheel of the Calderwood No. 6h. Hines enters the Western World coming off a fourth place finish this past weekend in the USAC Western Classic at the Canyon Speedway Park. The 2000 USAC Silver Crown and 2002 USAC National Sprint Car Champion has had a successful year, managing ten wins to along with a fourth place run in the 2012 USAC National Sprint Car standings.

Among the entrants into this year’s event, five plan to pull double duty including two time champion Non-Wing Brady Bacon (2009, 2010), Dalten Gabbard, Joshua Hodges, Dustin Morgan, and current ASCS Southwest Region points leader and defending champion Rick Ziehl.

Other notable entries include Rico Abreu who qualified for the A-Feature in this year’s Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Nationals presented by General Tire, and Mike Spencer who grabbed the 2012 Oval Nationals title at Parris Auto Speedway in the Ron Chaffin owned No. 50. Abreu will behind the wheel of the Abreu Vinyard No. 89 with the Lucas Oil ASCS presented by MAVTV while Spencer will pilot the Mark Priestly No. 7m with Non-Wing ASCS Canyon Region.

Festivities for the 45th annual FVP Western World Championships presented by Sands Chevrolet will begin with a pre-race party on Nov. 13 at the Native New Yorker located at 7273 N. 95th Ave. in Glendale, Arizona starting at 7 p.m.

This year’s event will feature split qualifying nights with the Lucas Oil ASCS presented by MAVTV preliminary events paying $1,500 to win each night. The ASCS Canyon Region portion will feature $1,250 to win preliminary features. Championship night for the Lucas Oil ASCS presented by MAVTV will feature a $10,000 to win, $500 to start A-Feature event and a $5,000 to win, $300 to start ASCS Canyon Region A-Feature.

Lucas Oil ASCS presented by MAVTV – Pre-Entries


Dustin Morgan, J.J. Hickle, Gary Taylor, Brad Loyet, Bruce Griffith Jr., Jesse Baker, Jack Dover, Dalten Gabbard, Danny Wood, Brady Bacon, John Carney II, Matt Covington, Donny Schatz, Jayme Barnes, Logan Forler, Henry Van Dam, Travis Rilat, Joshua Williams, Kyle Hirst, Wayne Johnson


Kaylene Verville, Bud Goodwin, Tony Bruce Jr., Brian Brown, Mike Rux Jr., Seth Bergman, Jason Johnson, Justin Henderson, Rico Abreu, Lance Norick, Jeff Swindell, Christopher Bell, Cole Wood, Danny Lasoski, Rick Ziehl, Johnny Herrera, Shawn Peterson, Lucas Wolfe, Josh Hodges, Gary Wright.

Non-Wing ASCS Canyon Region – Pre Entries


Joshua Shipley, Bob Ream Jr., Josh Hodges, Josh Pelkey, Andy Reinbold, Jon Stanbrough, Thomas Ogle, Charles Davis Jr., R.J. Johnson, Colby Copland, Chris Bonneau, James Aragon, Bryan Clauson, Ronnie Smith, Kevin Thomas Jr., Shane Cockrum, Matthew Rossi, Brian Hosford, Rick Ziehl, Tracy Hines, Bruce St. James, Johnny Shelton Jr.


Ronnie Clark, Brian Swinehart, Darrel Sickles, Mike Martin, Shon Deskins, Michael Bonneau, Tom Lee, Dalten Gabbard, Casey Shuman, Justin Quinn, Dustin Morgan, Brady Bacon, Jerry Coons Jr., Kyle Danielson, Matt Lundy, Shane Cottle, Jody Wirth, Michael Curtis, Mike Spencer, Dave Darland.