Wayne Johnson Is Creek County Star

Wayne Johnson en route to victory at Creek County Speedway. (Richard Bales photo)

SAPULPA, Okla. — Picking up Friday’s $2,000 top prize, Wayne Johnson was superb in slower traffic at Creek County Speedway with the American Bank of Oklahoma ASCS Red River Region presented by Smiley’s Racing Products.

Johnson’s fifth career victory with the American Bank of Oklahoma ASCS Red River Region presented by Smiley’s Racing Products, the Outlaw Wings No. 2c took the green from the fifth starting spot.

Rolling runner-up on lap 14 after a multi-lap battle with Sean McClelland, traffic brought race-long leader Matt Covington into view.

Maneuvering through the low line into turn-one on lap 17, Johnson pulled even with Covington but was denied the position. Swinging momentum through turns three and four, Wayne stuck to the top through the first and second turns to take the top spot away from the A-Rock Materials No. 95.

Slowed working lap 19, the restart rolled to the last fully completed lap with Johnson pulling away in clean air for the win. Matt Covington held on for second with Sean McClelland holding off the ferocious charge of Kyle Bell and Joe Wood, Jr.

Seth Bergman crossed sixth with Kyle Clark moving to seventh from 14th. Following from 15th, Blake Hahn took eighth with Andrew Deal ninth from 18th. Making his first start behind the wheel of an ASCS machine, Cannon McIntosh came through the B main to finish 10th.

The finish:

Wayne Johnson, Matt Covington, Sean McClelland, Kyle Bellm, Joe Wood Jr., Seth Bergman, Kyle Clark, Blake Hahn, Andrew Deal, Cannon McIntosh, Michael Day, Alex Sewell, Jake Greider, Brett Wilson, Kade Morton, Mike Goodman, Tim Kent, Layne Himebaugh, Chance Morton, Mickey Walker.