Wayne Johnson Claims Ultimate ASCS Challenge

Wayne Johnson in victory lane at Southern Iowa Speedway. (Frank Smith photo)
Wayne Johnson and TwoC Racing are running the full World of Outlaws schedule in 2020. (Frank Smith photo)

OSKALOOSA, Iowa — Wayne Johnson used a mid-race pass to take the Sage Fruit Ultimate ASCS Challenge Tuesday night at Southern Iowa Speedway.

The 25-lap ASCS feature got off to a rocky start when Jon Agan and Shawn Murray crashed on the backstretch.

Once underway, Californian Willie Croft led Tucker Doughty and Matt Covington.  Wayne Johnson, who started in row four, was by Covington for third by lap four.

Four circuits later, Johnson slid by Doughty for second and set his sights on the leader.  On lap 12, Johnson slid under Croft to lead, but Croft battled back by to lead lap 13 in a good battle.  Johnson took the point for good on lap 14, before hitting lapped traffic on the 16th circuit.

ASCS point leader, Sam Hafertepe Jr., was surging as well, moving into the top three on lap 16.  The final caution came out for a stopped Trey Starks with nine to go.  Meanwhile, a fire ended Covington’s night while running fourth.

Johnson pulled away on the restart, while Hafertepe took second on lap 18. Johnson would hold on for the win, ahead of Hafertepe, Croft, Doughty and Scott Bogucki.

Brady Bacon won from the tail in the companion POWRi Lucas Oil WAR Sprint League Ultimate Challenge event.

The finish:

Feature (25 laps): 1. 2c, Wayne Johnson, Tuttle, OK (7) 2. 15H, Sam Hafertepe Jr., Sunnyvale, TX (8) 3. 29, Willie Croft, Roseville, CA (1) 4. 2x, Tucker Doughty, Sunnyvale, TX (2) 5. 28, Scott Bogucki, McLaren Vale, SA, Aust (12) 6. 52, Blake Hahn, Sapulpa, OK (6) 7. 5, Dusty Zomer, Sioux Falls, SD (11) 8. 33m, Mason Daniel, Springville, CA (17) 9. J2, John Carney II, El Paso, TX (10) 10. 53, Jack Dover, Springfield, NE (14) 11. 11, Roger Crockett, Broken Arrow, OK (22) 12. 21K, Thomas Kennedy, Winnipeg, MB, Can. (15) 13. 17w, Harli White, Lindsay, OK (18) 14. 7TAZ, Tasker Phillips, Pleasantville, IA (18) 15. 21P, Robbie Price, Cobble Hill, BC, Can. (23, prov.) 16. 77x, Alex Hill, Six Nations, ONT, Can. (21) 17. 1, Travis Rilat, Heath, TX (20) 18. 14, Jordon Mallett, Greenbrier, AR (24, prov.) 19. 95, Matt Covington, Glenpool, OK (4) 20. 44, Trey Starks, Puyallup, WA (9) 21. 75AU, Kyle Bellm, Nixa, MO (13) 22. 4, Jon Agan, Knoxville, IA (5) 23. 22, Shawn Murray, Jacksonville, FL (10) DQ – 3, Ayrton Gennetten, Gravois Mills, MO (19). Lap Leaders: Croft 1-11, W. Johnson 12, Croft 13, W. Johnson 14-25. KSE Hard-charger: Crockett. Snap-On Mechanic of the Race:Conner Nelson.

Mobil 1 – the best choice for your Truck or SUV. Learn more about Mobil 1 Truck & SUV oil and enter for a chance to win a Toyota pickup or SUV at dirtgiveaway.com.