Swindell Shows Fine Form At Devil’s Bowl

Jeff Swindell won the opener for the 39th Winternationals Friday at Devil's Bowl Speedway in Mesquite, Texas. (Tim Aylwin photo)
Jeff Swindell won the opener for the 39th Winternationals Friday at Devil’s Bowl Speedway in Mesquite, Texas. (Tim Aylwin photo)

MESQUITE, Texas — Jeff Swindell was in fine form Friday night at Devil’s Bowl Speedway, leading all but one lap en route to a $3,000 payday on night one of the 39th annual Winter Nationals.

Earning the FSR Radiator High Point Award, the H&H Container Service No. 94 then drew the pole in the night’s 25-lap feature event alongside Christopher Bell.

Jumping to the race led, Swindell nearly saw his night end after going sideways exiting turn two on lap two. Nearly stalling the engine, the MVT No. 94 would fall to second but would rally back around Christopher Bell on lap three.

Wayne Johnson began running down Christopher Bell as the leaders neared the tail of the field.

Held up for a trio of laps, Swindell saw a two-second lead diminished to car lengths as Bell and Johnson made the challenge for the lead only to see the caution lights blink on as John Carney II rolled to a stop exiting turn four.

Rolling to green with six laps to run, Danny Lasoski and Jason Johnson began battling to be in the top five with Rilat in the mix.

Going three wide, Lasoski would get the run but Jason Johnson would have the advantage as the MVT No. 41 grabbed the fourth spot with series rival Wayne Johnson within sight.

Swindell held off Bell for his third win of the 2012 season. Jason Johnson rallied past Wayne Johnson to finish third with Lasoski fourth and Rilat fifth.

The finish:

Jeff Swindell, Chris Bell, Jason Johnson, Danny Lasoski, Travis Rilat, Wayne Johnson, Johnny Herrera, Brian Brown, Brady Bacon, Jack Dover, Seth Bergman, Zach Chappell, Justin Henderson, Ray Allen Kulhanek, Matt Covington, Tony Bruce Jr., Brad Loyet, Kevin Ramey, Logan Forler, George White, John Carney II, Koby Barksdale, Danny Jennings.