Swindell Doubles Up At Devil’s Bowl

Jeff Swindell celebrates sweeping the Winternationals at Devil's Bowl Speedway in Texas. (Tim Aylwin photo)
Jeff Swindell celebrates sweeping the Winternationals at Devil’s Bowl Speedway in Texas. (Tim Aylwin photo)

MESQUITE, Texas — “It’s all about luck at this place,” were the words of Jeff Swindell when asked about racing at the Devil’s Bowl Speedway, and Saturday night luck was on Swindell’s side as the driver of the H&H Container Service No. 94 wheeled by Danny Lasoski on the white-flag lap to complete the weekend sweep of the 39th annual Winternationals.

Drawing the third starting spot in the night’s 30 lap Lucas Oil ASCS presented by MAVTV feature event, Swindell fell to fifth on the start as Lasoski jumped to the lead ahead of pole starter Gary Wright with Christopher Bell in tow.

Pausing for a caution on lap four that saw the Casey’s General Store No. 21 of Brian Brown stalling on the backstretch, Lasoski controlled the restart.

Bell’s night ended with mechanical problems with 18 laps remaining, while Gary Wright began challenging Lasoski for the lead.

After another restart following Dustin Morgan stopping on the track, Swindell began making his way forward.

He took second from Wright on lap 19 and began challenging Lasoski for the top spot. The yellow flag when Johnny Herrera stopped on lap 29 of the half-mile dirt track, gave Swindell the opportunity he needed.

Trying to make the car as wide as possible, Lasoski would slip just enough for Swindell to gain the inside line coming to the white flag. Getting the lead entering turn one, the duo pulled into an all-out drag race into turns three and four with Swindell holding on for the last-lap victory.

Lasoski beat Wright to the checkered flag with Jason Johnson and Justin Henderson filling the top five.

Also a part of the night’s festivities was a tribute to Gary Wright during Intermission by official, friends, fellow racers, and family. Announcing his retirement from professional racing earlier this season, “The Texan” was honored by those who are proud to call him their friend with a plaque presented by ASCS along with a commemorative mirror from Gary’s family.

The finish:

Jeff Swindell, Danny Lasoski, Gary Wright, Jason Johnson, Justin Henderson,Kevin Swindell, Danny Jennings, Matt Covington, Zach Chappell, Seth Bergman, John Carney II, Brady Bacon, Gary Taylor, Tony Bruce Jr., Ray Allen Kulhanek, Brian Brown, Wayne Johnson, Brad Loyet, Logan Forler, Dale Wester, Johnny Herrera, Andy Shouse, Dustin Morgan, Chris Bell.