Swindell Breaks Through At Lawton

Jeff Swindell in victory lane Wednesday night at Lawton (Okla.) Speedway. (ASCS photo)
Jeff Swindell in victory lane Wednesday night at Lawton (Okla.) Speedway. (ASCS photo)

LAWTON, Okla. — Racing to three podium finishes in as many nights to kick off the 2013 ASCS Sizzlin’ Summer Speedweek, Jeff Swindell added to his record of nights on the podium with his first triumph of 2013 at Lawton Speedway in the H&H Container Services No. 94.

His first victory at the Lawton Speedway in Lucas Oil ASCS presented by MAVTV American Real, Swindell was challenged several times on restarts by runner up finisher Dustin Morgan. The Bartlett, Tenn., driver worked a mixture of lines on the ultra-slick surface to pull a straightaway advantage at the checkered flag in the National Tour’s 13th visit at the quarter-mile oval.

Asked about recent runs leading up to the win, Swindell commented that the car was setup similar to what he ran nearly 15 years ago.

“It’s amazing some of the little things that can mess you up really bad and on these little bullring slick tracks, most of these guys have been driving by us but I think that little spells’ over with,” Swindell said.

Dustin Morgan’s runner-up finish matched his run at the U.S. 36 Raceway on May 17. Sharing the front row with Swindell, a lap-22 caution flag saw Morgan pull even outside Swindell but to no avail. Morgan held off several attempts by Jason Johnson for the runner up finish.

“We just gotta take this run and build some momentum off it,” said Morgan. “We had a tough couple goings earlier this week but ripping off a second here, well, it’s OK but second kind of sucks.”

Jason Johnson added his sixth podium appearance of the season after starting fifth; trading back and forth several times with Brad Loyet before securing the position on lap 12.

“We just missed the setup a little bit, but my guys are working their tails off and we’ll get in figured out for tomorrow night,” Johnson said. “I just didn’t have the driver off the corners. I could beat them all the way to the apex, but the exit of the corner I just got balled up.”

Loyet and Christopher Bell rounded out the top five.

The finish:

Jeff Swindell, Dustin Morgan, Jason Johnson, Brad Loyet, Christopher Bell, Blake Hahn, Joe Wood Jr., Tony Bruce Jr., Mike Goodman, Matt Covington, Kevin Ramey, Jake Martens, Johnny Herrera, Tim Crawley, Tony Stewart, Zach Pringle, Channin Tankersley, Layne Himebaugh, Kyle McCutcheon, Kolt Walker, Kyle Clark, Cole Wood, Seth Bergman.