It’s Brian Brown At Randolph County

Brian Brown in victory lane at Randolph County Raceway. (Terry Ford photo)

MOBERLY, Mo. — For the 22nd time, Brian Brown found his way to victory with the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by the MAVTV Motorsports Network, charging seventh to first in the series debut at Randolph County Raceway on Friday night.

“We’re just happy to be here, we had a fast car,” said Brown. “We’ve been messed up the past two weeks, so it was important to come here tonight and run well. To beat these guys from seventh, it’s pretty awesome.”

Topping round six of the 2017 ASCS Sizzlin’ Summer Speedweek and Bob Westphal Memorial Cup in the FVP/Casey’s General Store No. 21, Brown had his work cut out as the closing laps had him going head-to-head with 2015 series champion Aaron Reutzel.

Trading slide jobs through slower traffic, the advantage went to the Precision Catalyst No. 87, but the caution on lap 22 sent things back into the hands of Brian Brown. Holding the field to the exit of the fourth turn, Aaron held the No. 21 Maxim/Garrett machine at bay but with momentum building, Brown leapt to the point as Aaron was left to contend with Sam Hafertepe Jr.

Building his charge, the run for the lead ended on lap 23 as the No. 87 stumbled and hopped up the track through turns three and four, with the final destination being the trailer as the left rear tire went down.

Pulling the caution for the third time, the restart was all Brian Brown with his advantage 1.731 seconds over Hafertepe, who raced with Reutzel throughout the opening laps, had his hands full with Ian Madsen through the final laps.

Madsen was third with Wayne Johnson trailing. Completing the top five was Jonathan Cornell, who climbed from the 12th starting spot.

The finish:

Brian Brown, Sam Hafertepe Jr., Ian Madsen, Wayne Johnson, Jonathan Cornell, Dustin Morgan, Matt Covington, Seth Bergman, Johnny Herrera, Jay Russell, Justin Henderson, Skylar Gee, Scott Bogucki, Jake Greider, Aaron Reutzel, Kyle Bellm, Kameron Key, Jason Barney, Tony Bruce Jr., Miles Paulus, Blake Hahn, Harli White, Josh Baughman, Chance Morton.