Short Track Nationals Right Around The Corner


LITTLE ROCK, Ark. – Turning the page of the calendar to October is a sure sign of one thing; that the first hints of Short Track Nationals Fever are already in the air.

October annually brings about the nation’s premier 360-ci Sprint Car event, the Short Track Nationals at Little Rock’s I-30 Speedway. And this year’s edition of the event, set for Oct. 25-27, is sure to be a grand one as it will be the 25th rendition of the crown jewel event.

Approximately 100 of the nation’s top Sprint Car teams will converge upon Little Rock over the final weekend of October to vie for their share of the 25th Annual COMP Cams Short Track Nationals presented by Hoosier Tires purse that exceeds $100,000, with the winner pocketing a hefty $15,000 and all Saturday night STN Championship Feature starters earning at least $2,500.

With the pre-entry deadline coming up on Oct. 17, entries are already pouring into the I-30 Speedway track office with several past event winners among the early crop of entries.

Entries postmarked by October 17 are $150, with entries submitted after that $250. Entry forms are available at or by calling 501-455-4567.

Last October, Sammy Swindell became just the fourth multi-time STN winner by besting a field of 100 competitors for his first Short Track Nationals championship since 1990.

Others that have claimed multiple STN honors include four-time champion Gary Wright (1995, 1999, 2003, 2004), Steve Kinser (1988, 1989, 1991) and Tony Bruce, Jr. (2008, 2009).

Other past Short Track Nationals winners include Brad Sweet (2010), Jason Meyers (2007), Jason Johnson (2006), Tim Montgomery (2005), Paul McMahan (2002), Jason Sides (2001), Mike Ward (2000), Tim Crawley (1998), Wayne Johnson (1997), Pete Butler (1996), Terry Gray (1994) and John Gerloff (1993). The 1992 edition fell victim to rain.