Short Track Nationals Coming Oct. 23-26


LITTLE ROCK, Ark. — The Short Track Nationals.

Just the mere mention of it perks up the ears of sprint car drivers and fans throughout the nation.

And the nation’s crown jewel of winged 360 sprint car racing is just four weeks away, as the 26th annual COMP Cams Short Track Nationals presented by Hoosier Tires is set for Oct. 23-26 atop the quarter-mile I-30 Speedway.

While the winner of the 26th rendition of the Short Track Nationals will once again capture the hefty $15,000 winner’s share in the Saturday night championship finale that offers up $2,500 just to start, the overall take could soar to over $20,000 with the addition of the Wednesday night Short Track Nationals Open.

This year’s edition of the STN will once again consists of two full nights of qualifying action on Thursday and Friday (Oct. 24-25) to set the field for the Saturday night, October, STN Championship slate of events with more than $100,000 in cash doled out on those three nights alone.

And the on-track action gets going one night earlier this year with the Inaugural Short Track Nationals Open on Wednesday, Oct. 23. The Wednesday event offers up $2,500 to win and $200 to start, with the highest finisher among the top four finishers that doesn’t race his/her way into the STN championship feature field offered a provisional. If the Wednesday night winner also tops Saturday’s finale, an extra $2,500 bonus courtesy of Dixon Road U-Pull-It will push the overall winner’s take to $20,000.

Last October, Paul McMahan became just the fifth multi-time STN winner by besting a field of 94 competitors for his first Short Track Nationals championship since 2002, denying upstart Christopher Bell the lucrative payday in the process.

Others that have claimed multiple STN honors include four-time champion Gary Wright (1995, 1999, 2003, 2004), Steve Kinser (1988, 1989, 1991), Sammy Swindell (1990, 2011) and Tony Bruce, Jr. (2008, 2009).

Other past Short Track Nationals winners include Brad Sweet (2010), Jason Meyers (2007), Jason Johnson (2006), Tim Montgomery (2005), Jason Sides (2001), Mike Ward (2000), Tim Crawley (1998), Wayne Johnson (1997), Pete Butler (1996), Terry Gray (1994) and John Gerloff (1993). The 1992 edition fell victim to rain.