Seth Bergman Wins From 16th At Skagit

Seth Bergman (center) shares the podium with Travis Rilat and Jason Solwold Friday at Skagit Speedway. (Skagit Speedway photo)

ALGER, Wash. — If ever a race could be called wild, Friday’s preliminary feature for the 47th Jim Raper Memorial Dirt Cup presented by the Skagit Casino Resort fit the bill as Seth Bergman romped from 16th for his third win of the season with the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by

Keeping clear of a myriad of crashes, the Skagit Speedway triumph propelled Bergman back to the top of the standings by six markers over Blake Hahn as Sam Hafertepe Jr., who led the standings coming into Dirt Cup, fell to third by 27 points.

“The first part of the race was pretty hectic, and I knew it was going to be important to stay out of trouble. A lot of guys were getting a lot of damage, and I wanted to make sure we got through there with a car that could complete, and sure enough we had a car that was really, really, fast,” Bergman said. “I’m just really proud of my guys, I know we had a rough night last night which is out of character for us, but we kept our heads held high, came out tonight, and got the job done. We had a little luck there at the beginning but as the race went on, we really got rolling.”

Moving to ninth on the lineup before the field completed a lap, Bergman raced inside the top 10 before mounting a charge into the top five on lap 10.

After a caution flag and a red flag, Bergman continued moving forward, picking off Scott Bogucki and J.J. Hickle and running down second-place Jason Solwold.

Clearing Solwold before the red lights blinked on again for Trey Starks, the field went back to green with six laps to run.

With Rilat at the helm, the BDS Motorsports No. 1 was smooth around the bottom groove as Bergman returned to his familiar line. With the run set, Bergman pulled the trigger the following lap and slid into the lead on lap 21.

Not wavering from his line, Bergman ran away to a two-second advantage over Rilat with Solwold making the final podium step.

From 10th, Scott Bogucki finished fourth, while Colton Heath raced from 21st to fifth.

The finish:

Seth Bergman, Travis Rilat, Jason Solwold, Scott Bogucki, Colton Heath, J.J. Hickle, Brock Lemley, Matt Covington, Logan Forler, Roger Crockett, Austen Wheatley, Skylar Gee, Blake Hahn, Trey Starks, Joey Saldana, Michael Kofoid, Jared Peterson, Chris Martin, Johnny Herrera, Robbie Price, Marc Duperron, Ryan Robinson.