Rilat Becomes 25th ASCS Winner

Travis Rilat and team celebrate victory Saturday night in Las Cruces, N.M. (ASCS photo)
Travis Rilat and team celebrate victory Saturday night in Las Cruces, N.M. (ASCS photo)

LAS CRUCES, N.M. — For the first time since the accident that nearly claimed his life, Travis Rilat was almost magical working the high side of Southern New Mexico Speedway en route to victory Saturday night, becoming the 25th different Lucas Oil ASCS Sprint Car Series winner of the season.

“I tell you what we’ve been fast all year. We have several race wins this year but it’s been awhile since we got one of these national tour wins,” said Rilat. “I can’t thank Richard and Lana enough for giving me the opportunity to drive their car.”

Gridding the car fifth, Rilat fell to seventh on the start. Slowing for a caution on lap two, the race resumed with the A-Rock Material No. 12m of Kyle McCutcheon showing the way. Taking off to a sizable advantage while Johnny Herrera raced into the runner up spot, the caution would again wave on lap six; just as slower traffic was in the leader’s sight.

Taking the green flag, Herrera dived low on McCutcheon for the lead but was unable to make the pass. Pushing back into slower traffic, a wrong move while working under a slower car would send the No. 12m spinning to a stop.

Herrera inherited the lead with 17 laps complete, but would have to contend with the hard charging Rilat. Utilizing the cushion, Rilat capitalized on a restart with twelve laps complete to begin working from sixth to third before the caution waved for McCutcheon.

Working side by side with Herrera on the restart, Rilat grabbed the point on lap 18; pulling away to the win despite working in and out of slower traffic.

Herrera finished second with Wayne Johnson charging from eighth to complete the podium. Jason Johnson was fourth with Dustin Morgan capping off his weekend with a top-five finish.

The finish:

Travis Rilat, Johnny Herrera, Wayne Johnson, Jason Johnson, Dustin Morgan, Logan Forler, Kyle Hirst, Brady Bacon, Kraig Kinser, Jack Dover, John Carney II, Justin Henderson, Tony Bruce Jr., Kyle Sager, Brad Loyet, Rick Ziehl, Kyle McCutcheon, Seth Bergman, Wes Wofford, Matt Covington, Danny Lasoski, Steve Kinser, Rickey Hood, Gary Wright, Colt Treharn.



Previous articleKreitz Wins Susky’s Final Showdown
Next articlePayne Banks $7,777 In The Desert is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.