Reutzel Is Untouchable In Sapulpla ASCS Run

Aaron Reutzel has teamed up with Josh Baughman and will chase the Arctic Cat All Star Circuit of Champions crown in 2018. (Rich Bales photo)

SAPULPA, Okla. — Aaron Reutzel was untouchable on Thursday night, earning his second Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series National Tour presented by the MAVTV Motorsports Network A-Feature victory of the season.

Winning at Creek County Speedway in round five of the ASCS Sizzlin’ Summer Speedweek, the win is Aaron’s first National Tour triumph at the Oklahoma quarter-mile in the tour’s 24th visit since 1994.

“Carson told me today he wanted to stand on the wing, so when we went up the pill draw, I told him to get us the number one and I think I can get us up there,” said Reutzel.

Winning the drag race to the first turn, the start would take a repeat as three cars stacked up off the fourth turn. Beating out Seth Bergman again, Reutzel stuck the left side tires of his Dissolvalloy No. 87 on the hub as the field slowed again with a single lap complete.

Quickly building his lead, Aaron found the back of the field on the 10th rotation. Picking his way around slower cars, the 2015 Lucas Oil ASCS National Tour champion took in a few observations of where other cars were running.

“I was watching a couple of cars. Mainly Josh [Baughman] was trying to rip the top and I know if anyone can do it, he can, and he really couldn’t make it work so I knew there was no way those guys were going to pass me.”

A lap 21 yellow flag for Sam Hafertepe Jr. tightened the field.

With Seth Bergman on his rear bumper, Reutzel hit his marks perfectly to finish 1.224 seconds ahead of the Corridor Electric No. 23.

“I knew the start was going to crucial to who was going to win this race. I’ve been in that situation before and got the upper hand, but this time Aaron got the start. The bottom was where you needed to be so I just had to stay with him and do the best I could,” said Seth of the runner-up result.

Getting back on the front stretch for the third time in 2017, South Dakota’s Justin Henderson breathed new life into his season, “To say it’s been a disappointing start to Speedweek would be an understatement, and my team owner would second that so it feels good to get on the podium and see somewhat of a check.”

Jason Barney posted his best finish of the weekend with a fourth-place result with Sean McClelland fifth.

The finish:

Aaron Reutzel, Seth Bergman, Justin Henderson, Jason Barney, Sean McClelland, Dustin Morgan, Justin Webb, Wayne Johnson, Matt Covington, Johnny Herrera, Alex Sewell, Tony Bruce Jr., Harli White, Scott Bogucki, Sam Hafertepe Jr., Skylar Gee, Josh Baughman, Blake Hahn, Kyle Clark, Channin Tankersley, Jared Sewell, Joe Wood Jr., John Carney II, Chance Morton, Kyle Bellm.