Reutzel Grabs Fifth Gulf South Victory


EDNA, Texas — When the dust settled at the Texana Raceway Park, it was Aaron Reutzel picking up his fifth Griffith Truck and Equipment Gulf South Regional win of 2013, leading only the final five laps of the night’s 25-lap feature event.

Drawing the front row, Blake Hahn jumped to the point for the first four rounds. Surrendering the lead to Channin Tankersley for a pair of laps, Hahn raced back to the lead on lap seven and set the pace until lap 19.

The following lap scored the No. 87 of Reutzel out front where the Clute, Texas driver would remain. Channin Tankersley worked to second with Hahn slipping to the final step on the podium. Ray Allen Kulhanek and Travis Elliot made up the top five.

Reutzel’s win has brought the race for the Griffith Truck and Equipment Gulf South Regional championship to 17 markers behind Ray Allen Kulhanek.

The finish:

Aaron Reutzel, Channin Tankersley, Blake Hahn, Ray Allen Kulhanek, Travis Elliott, Michael Lang, Ryan Beechler, Beau Smith, Klint Angelette, J.J. Simmons, Greg Rilat, Larry Howery, Andrew VanBlarcum, Bruce Griffith Jr., Brandie Jass, Tyson Hall, Scottie McDonald, Brandon Berryman, Harry Yerrington