Reshaped Devil’s Bowl Next For ASCS


TULSA, Okla. – A look at the history of the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by MAVTV American Real reveals on constant for the largest Sprint Car sanctioning body as the Devil’s Bowl Speedway in Mesquite, Texas has appeared on the National schedule 72 times since the series’ first visit in 1994.

After a break following season opening events in Arizona, the Lucas Oil ASCS presented by MAVTV American Real Returns to the famed Mesquite oval for the 40th running of the Spring National. The 2013 event will also carry the title of memorial as the Devil’s Bowl pays tribute to the late Matt Clevenger.

Shortened by rain in 2012, Jason Johnson secured his tenth overall win at the half-mile oval, just ten wins behind all time winner Gary Wright who made his last visit to the Devil’s Bowl in 2012 before hanging up his helmet at the conclusion of the season.

Despite a less than desirable start to his 2013 campaign, Johnson’s rebound has been nothing short of memorizing as the Roush/Yates powered No. 41 swept the opening rounds of the Cocopah Cup Challenge at the Cocopah Speedway in Somerton, Ariz. two weeks ago.

Currently second in the tour line-up, Johnson is poised to assume the points lead as Brian Brown pursues events on the west coast.

One thing drivers will notice upon their return to the Devil’s Bowl is a reshaped racetrack. More specifically, a redesign for the turn two area.