McFadden To Lead 360 Nationals Field To Green

McFadden To Lead
James McFadden is on the pole for the 360 Knoxville Nationals. (Paul Arch photo)

KNOXVILLE, Iowa – By virtue of earning the most passing points between the two preliminary programs, Australian James McFadden will lead the field to green for the My Place Hotels 360 Knoxville Nationals finale on Saturday night.

Piloting the No. 9 Wicked Energy Gum sprinter for Kasey Kahne Racing with Mike Curb, McFadden tallied up 495 points out of a possible score of 500, including a win during the Friday preliminary feature.

Joining McFadden on the front row for Saturday night’s 25-lap finale will be Joey Saldana, who earned 493 points during his preliminary night in the Ed Neumister-owned No. 12n entry.

Both McFadden and Saldana are seeking their first victory in the 360 Knoxville Nationals.

Sharing the second row of the grid will be Brian Brown, the 2014 event champion, and Paul McMahan, who is piloting the iconic Rush Truck Centers-backed No. 14 for Tony Stewart Racing this weekend.

Dusty Zomer completes the top-five starters, followed by All Star Circuit of Champions point leader Aaron Reutzel, Wayne Johnson, reigning ASCS national champion Sam Hafertepe Jr., Canadian Thomas Kennedy and Thursday preliminary winner Ryan Giles.

Five-time and defending 360 Knoxville Nationals champion Terry McCarl starts 17th for the finale.

Twenty cars were locked into the Saturday A-main based on their combined point totals from preliminary competition, with the last of those being Lee Grosz in 20th.

Among those who will be seeking to make their way into the field from the alphabet soup on Saturday night include Trey Starks, Gio Scelzi, 2017 winner Clint Garner, 2002 winner Jeff Swindell, Brady Bacon, McKenna Haase, Shane Golobic, 2016 winner Sammy Swindell, Spencer Bayston and Greg Wilson.

Just four drivers will transfer into the championship feature from the 15-lap B-main. Austin McCarl and Calvin Landis will share the front row for that contest. A C, D and E-main will also be held on Saturday.

360 Knoxville Nationals A-main Starting Lineup

  1. #9m – James McFadden, 495
  2. #12N – Joey Saldana, 493
  3. #21 – Brian Brown, 487
  4. #14 – Paul McMahan, 481
  5. #5 – Dusty Zomer, 479
  6. #87 – Aaron Reutzel, 477
  7. #2C – Wayne Johnson, 475
  8. #15H – Sam Hafertepe Jr., 473
  9. #21K – Thomas Kennedy, 470
  10. #9 – Ryan Giles, 468
  11. #56N – Davey Heskin, 467
  12. #5H – Colby Copeland, 465
  13. #26 – Cory Eliason, 461
  14. #71P – Parker Price-Miller, 456
  15. #17W – Harli White, 456
  16. #83H – Justin Henderson, 452
  17. #4X – Terry McCarl, 452
  18. #27 – Carson McCarl, 451
  19. #09 – Matt Juhl, 449
  20. #4J – Lee Grosz, 449
  21. B-Main Winner
  22. B-Main Runner-Up
  23. B-Main Third Place
  24. B-Main Fourth Place

Mobil 1 – the best choice for your Truck or SUV. Learn more about Mobil 1 Truck & SUV oil and enter for a chance to win a Toyota pickup or SUV at