Loyet Gets Redemption At Great Falls


GREAT FALLS, Mont. — Losing the lead on the final lap in 2013 at the Electric City Speedway Brad Loyet was not about to let the win slip through his hands again as the ASCS National point leader raced to his second Protect the Harvest A-Feature victory of 2014 in front of a capacity crowd with the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by MAVTV American Real.

“Last year I just gift wrapped that one for Tony Bruce, but this feels awesome,” said Loyet. “It feels good to come out here and get a win. My guys work hard and right there before the feature, they asked what I thought and we changed it up a little bit on the set-up and we just shot out of there like a cannon.”

Gridding the Miller Truck Lines No. 05 tenth, Loyet wasted little time working to the front of the field. Advancing to the runner-up spot by the third round, Loyet set his sights on Blake Hahn for the lead.

“I knew I had a better car than Blake on the bottom and I was worried he was going see me down there and start running the bottom on the restarts.,” Loyet said. “They had a really good car, so hats off to those guys.”

Stalking Hahn in slower traffic, the duo took the race three wide on multiple occasions; the most notable coming before a lap-16 caution flag for Joe Ramaker in which the pair went three deep in traffic with two different cars through turns three and four.

Finally getting the run on Lap 21, Loyet snagged the lead the following lap.

Blake Hahn’s runner-up finish is his second of the season with the Lucas Oil ASCS presented by MAVTV American Real.

“I thought we could have had something but Brad definitely had something on the bottom. Leading it, I didn’t want to get off the top because I thought we were pretty fast so it was hard to get off the top but overall the car was good,” Hahn said.

Challenged in the closing laps for the second step on the podium by Matt Covington, the T&L Foundry No. 95 ended up settling for third.

After running fifth to second in the B main, Seth Bergman mounted a charge from 18th to fourth with Sam Hafertepe Jr. coming from 13th to round out the top five.

The finish:

Brad Loyet, Blake Hahn, Matt Covington, Seth Bergman, Sam Hafertepe Jr., Johnny Herrera, Jeff Swindell, Aaron Reutzel, Tony Bruce Jr., Trever Kirkland, Jason Johnson, Kelly Miller, Paxton Lambrecht, Joe Perry, David Hoiness, Jerry Brey, Vernon Hill, Ryder Olson, Steve Reeves, Joe Ramaker, Phil Dietz, Bill Boyce.


Previous articleRanger Conquers Edmonton
Next articleMoyer Beats Rain At Farmer City
SPEEDSPORT.com is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.