Loyet Gets It Done At Willamette

Brad Loyet in victory lane Saturday at Oregon's Willamette Speedway. (ASCS photo)
Brad Loyet in victory lane Saturday at Oregon’s Willamette Speedway. (ASCS photo)

LEBANON, Ore. — For the second year running, Brad Loyet capped off his West Coast swing with the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by MAVTV American Real with a victory, doing so this time at the Willamette Speedway.

Earning the lead with a low line pass exiting turn two on lap 15 in Saturday’s Protect the Harvest A-Feature, Loyet crossed the line amid heavy slower traffic with Jason Johnson stalking the Miller Truck Lines No. 05 but unable to capitalize as Loyet crossed 0.508 second ahead at the finish.

“I got to thank my guys, Jerry, Tim, and Rick and of course my Dad. We just really shine on these short tracks and have really had an awesome trip out here, we just hadn’t been able to seal the win,” said Loyet on his second victory of 2013. “It’s good to be able to take a win on home tonight.”

Johnson improved three spots from Friday night to take second, closing the championship point lead to 17 behind Johnny Herrera. Tagging the wall on Friday, Johnson was thankful for the work his crew did to get the MVT No. 41 on the podium, “I got to thank my guys for working their butts off all day. We gave it all we had; Brad just had a better car tonight.”

Rolling a brand new car out for the Willamette Speedway in preparation for Knoxville, Logan Forler garnered his second podium finish in as many nights.

“I just wish I would have found the bottom a little bit faster there at the end,” Forler said. “I think I could have had something for them but I think something went a little haywire on this car about halfway through and got really tight unfortunately. It happens, but we’ll just keep digging.”

Johnny Herrera crossed fourth with Roger Crockett completing the top five.

The finish:

Brad Loyet, Jason Johnson, Logan Forler, Johnny Herrera, Roger Crockett, Henry VanDam, Seth Bergman, Shane Golobic, Tony Bruce Jr., Jeff Swindell, Kyle Miller, Reece Goetz, Cole Wood, Dustin Morgan, Chadd Noland, Zack Spaulding, Brandon Hahn, Allison Journey, Brian Boswell, Shane Forte, Jake Waddell.


Previous articleBonsignore Masters Monadnock
Next articleDaum Delivers At Grain Valley
SPEEDSPORT.com is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.